We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big menu, little shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Bakery Cafe

Mount Bakery Cafe
308 W. Champion Street C, Bellingham, WA 98225
360-715-2195
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 388 restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Eclectic, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: The Mount Bakery is a bakery, cafe, creperie and restaurant serving award winning pastries and desserts, Bellingham's Best Benedict, scratch made soups, quiches, and lunch specials daily AND full menu plus dinner specials Wednesday through Saturdays. We are also now open at a second location - Mount Bakery Fairhaven - at 1217 Harris Avenue in the Historic Fairhaven district of Bellingham! Come to our Fairhaven neighborhood location to watch our famed bakers work while enjoying quiche, soup, pastries, fabulous cakes, espresso and more!
Lake Stevens, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Big menu, little shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was told of this Bakery by a friend, and since we were going to be just down the hill, we stopped in. OK, the name. Mount Baker is a local volcano, and is visible from Bellingham. It is visible for 150 miles, but that is another visit. The Bakery is small and in an old building, nice. They had a good, but small choice of fine baked goods, but we got there after 1:00. There were several specials and then we opened the menu, huge. Two soups, crepes (sweet and savory) sandwiches (hot and cold) and many more items. I had the special crepe (chicken, boc choy, squash, goat cheese...) Very good choice. The coffee was very good, and each table had a wine bottle with water. The wait staff was very attentive and the food came quickly and fresh. From the smell of the bacon someone else ordered, I will need to go back for a BLT. SPARKS museum is across the street, and a constant parade of local flavor is just outside. Sidewalk seats too. Breakfast all day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    33
    30
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Whenever we pass through Bellingham we like to stop for breakfast with friends at the Mount Bakery Cafe. It is in the center of town is storefront location. You can sit inside or at a sidewalk table. It is always a very filling experience. Breakfast can be simple with a fresh pastry and a cafe latte or the whole nine yards. I always choose the latter. On our last stop I had the eggs benedict made with a Belgian waffle instead of an English muffin. But there are many options to choose from with variety of crepes and omelettes. Whichever item you select off the menu or the daily specials you certainly will leave satisfied.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place in B'ham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

As close to "my regular" restaurant as I ever got in Bellingham. Perhaps I'm used to overpriced UK restaurants but this place has superb food for comparatively excellent prices. It isn't fast food, but the very opposite, and I appreciate that the atmosphere not only allows but encourages customers to take their time.

I honestly cannot wait for my next breakfast crepe with veggie sausage. Fingers crossed they still have it on the menu when I'm back in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hip atmosphere, outstanding food and baked goods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Baked goods are made from scratch; crepes (savory or sweet) and waffles, quiche, soups. Daily specials. Set your salivary glands on high for this cafe. I had the daily special crepe: Dungeness crab, local mushrooms, asparagus, spinach, leeks, tomato, gruyere with a side salad of fruit. Well-tended tables even during busy Saturday morning. Be prepared for a short wait if you hit the cafe mid- to late-morning. Would recommend highly

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Cute place for breakfast with excellent baked goods!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a cute breakfast place in Bellingham but it's kind of tucked away and easy to miss. The atmosphere is casual and laid back but the service is good. The croissants, baked goods, waffles and desserts are excellent! The other breakfast items, including crepes, eggs Benedict and traditional egg breakfasts are not bad, but not the best in town. They also serve lunch and wine and beer...I have not tried their lunch items but are willing to give them a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mount Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.