We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average deli” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Bread & Deli

Avenue Bread & Deli
1313 Railroad Ave, Bellingham, WA 98225
+1 360-715-3354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 384 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: We've been voted Bellingham's Best Sandwich for over ten years in a row, and there's good reason for this. We start with our fresh-baked bread (Focaccia, Rosemary, Mulitigrain, Ciabatta, just to name a few...), Add lots of tasty veggies, and all-natural meats (if you're into that sort of thing- if not, we have lots of vegetarian options), finish with great homemade spreads, and present you a gourmet sandwich fit for royalty. Special to our Railroad cafe are our flats, our take on pizza, and our grinders.
Bellingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

They make their own bread so that tastes fantastic, but the food and prices are pretty average and normal. Nothing spectacular, nothing bad.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really awful customer service at James Street”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Took 30 minutes to make a veggie sandwich for take out, several people who placed orders behind me received thier food first...order taker tried to apologize with a very limited choice of a day old looking cookie. Food is mediocre for the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“perfect lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

great menu of lunch options. We had sandwiches and grinders all of which were fresh, hearty, and tasty. Salads looks great and I wish we could have taken some of the bread home. A local's place with casual friendly feel.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast sandwiches ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I've eaten here 7 or 8 times in the past couple of years, always for breakfast, and find their breakfast sandwiches to be among the best I've ever had. It's clear they take care with each order to produce an excellent product.

And therein lies the rub -- service can be quite slow here. The food truly is amazing, but do be prepared to wait a bit. Don't go here if you're in a hurry -- do go if you have some time to sit and read or whatever.

I happen to think the food is worth the wait (for me, it's never been more than 15-20 minutes, tops).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Takes Forever for Take Out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Took 40 minutes for Deli to make two sandwiches for carry out. Food might be good but be prepared for a long wait.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue Bread & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Avenue Bread & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Bread & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.