We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OASIS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 E. McLeod Road, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OASIS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I went out of my way to write this review. This hotel is one of the few hotels that truly lived up to what it advertised. My mother ended up with an emergency trip to the hospital while at a wedding in Bellingham. Unexpectedly, I ended up making a trip there and having to stay three days. The Heritage Inn Best Western was an OASIS in our desert storm! The landscape is the first thing to awe over....the beautiful surroundings puts this hotel into a tranquil setting...even though it is right next to the freeway. KUDOS to the landscape architect! The counter attendant, while completely swamped, was amazingly courteous and helpful. She was very young...but extremely professional and skilled. She helped me secure a half-price/per night stay. If you get a "Hotel Voucher" from the hospital...and bring it in to this hotel...you will get an amazing rate. I got my room for $62.00/night with my hospital voucher. Ask at the hospital desk area (whatever floor) for this voucher. They can help you secure that. You do have to ask the Best Western clerk for this discount...as they do not offer it to you outright. The rooms were spacious, EXTREMELY CLEAN, and so, so comfortable. I wish my bed at home was that cushy! The linens smelled so fresh and were gorgeous. Nice curtains to block out the sun if you need/want to sleep in. There was a large, flat-screen, TV and lots of movies at the desk to borrow. We were able to watch recently released movies! The bathroom was modernly decorated with a tile shower and vessel sink. The towels were plush and the toiletries were above average. The breakfast choices are better than most hotels...the only problem was it was a bit of a walk to the building. But, you could drive over if need be. We actually ended up having a fire alarm go off one night...the staff took charge immediately and had the situation well under control in minutes. The location is ideal...close to the freeway, the mall, restaurants, and a few blocks from the hospital. All that I can say is...you WILL get your money's worth at this hotel. I've never been this impressed with a Best Western. The Best Western Heritage does their chain a GREAT honor! NOTE: There is another Best Western in Bellingham. So, be sure to look for the “Heritage Inn” B.W.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genrlman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how happy you were with your stay. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a positive experience during a stressful time. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    144
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
129
166
23
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Loved Bellingham. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, lots of choices w/fresh ham, cheese and eggs for breakfast sandwiches. They have free movies and DVD player in the room. We will stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genrlman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, BC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at the Best Western Heritage Inn for 2 nights while attending an event in Bellingham. We had a room with 2 queen beds which were quite comfortable, certainly better than many hotel beds I have slept in over the years. The hotel itself is situated across the road from Bellis Fair Mall but it is a fairly decent walk so if you plan on shopping take your car. The hotel itself has no restaurant however there are several within a short stroll including an enjoybal Mexican Restuarant virtually next door. The hotel has a free breakfast which is not bad compared to some others I have had. With make it yourself waffles another hot item it was certainly sufficient to start the day.

Disadvantages....well the room was a bit noisy...not from the road but you could hear people above you (I was on the first floor) although everyone seemed to quiet down reasonably early, no late night noises.

Bottom line....I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Bc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We always use this hotel when travelling to Bellingham. We stayed this past Sunday nite and as always it exceeded our expectations. The hotel has been upgraded since our last visit. The beds were so comfy we were shocked to find we had slept til 9am! Our room had a new tile walk in shower, granite counters and very nice toiletries.. Very quiet and comfortable hotel. Breakfast is included and had a wide array of choices. For dinner we went to the Mexican restaurant adjacent to the hotel and had a great meal. I would definitly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton Wa.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Just returned recently from an overnight trip to Bellingham, Wa.. and enjoyed staying at the Heritage Inn. Tucked away on a side road off I-5, this is a pleasant Best Western. Room was clean, the bed sumptuous with LOTS of nice plump pillows. Breakfast was ample and varied; cereal, fruit, D.I.Y. waffles, juice, mini muffins and coffee/ tea choices etc.. We found the price to be very fair ($89.10 + tax, AAA rate), for a luxury experience.
Handy location near shopping and not far from Old Town area of Bellingham.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We really enjoyed our recent stay in Bellingham at the BW Heritage Inn.

The hotel consists of 3 or 4 separate buildings. We had a very nice room in building 3 (I believe), equipped with two comfortable queen beds, a nice desk, small fridge & microwave, 32 inch LCD TV with DVD player, good sized bathroom. The hotel has recently undergone an extensive renovation and everything is very fresh and clean. The bathrooms have beautiful vanities, and the shower is great with a nice Waterpik showerhead. All very new and clean which is nice. The beds are very comfortable, and it was sure nice to be able to watch a movie on the DVD player and with a nice size LCD TV.

The hotel offers a free hot continental breakfast, which we were very impressed with. The breakfast is offered in each of the different buildings, so you don't need to go far. Breakfast included: eggs, waffles, toast, muffins, bagels, cream cheese, cereal, ham, cheese, croissants, as well as coffee, tea and juices. Absolutely excellent! Always a few people working in there cleaning up and keeping things fresh!

We used the hot tub one night, and it was quite nice. It's a little older, but still very nice.

The only complaint we had was that on the sheets of both beds when we arrived were several long dark hairs. The sheets felt and smelt clean, so we figured it was probably from the maid when she changed the bed. Still, it was enough to make you wonder and worry. We asked for the sheets to be changed the next morning and again there were a couple of hairs, so perhaps the maid needs to tie up her hair or be more careful.

All in all it was a great stay, perfect location and had all the amenties we wanted (breakfast, fridge, TV/DVD player, microwave). It's a good value for what you get.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount shasta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We were in Bellingham on a very hot day and were booked into Room 409, way in the back of the unit, which was hard to find in the dark. The room was hot and stuffy and it took a while for the AC to kick in. The layout of this room was very odd and perhaps is not like others at this facility, but I found it lacking. There was no mirror, other than in the bathroom, and no closet to hang clothes in. Also, the big flat screen TV was jammed into a corner next to one of the two beds, which made for awkward viewing. The biggest complaint though was the AC unit, which was right next to the same bed that the TV was. It was noisy and there were not enough settings on it to adjust it to a lower level, so we either dealt with a very cold room, or a very stuffy room. We did nto sleep well and would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn

Address: 151 E. McLeod Road, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#2 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn is a 90-room limited service hotel appealing to business and leisure travelers. As well as small groups. Located near I-5 at exit 256, it is within minutes of the best of what Bellingham WA has to offer…from beautiful Bellingham Bay to vibrant downtown, to Fairhaven district, to Western Washington University and more.The hotel’s familiar look complements its neighborhood feel. And its luxury hotel beds, fitness center, outdoor seasonal pool and enclosed hot tub, plus FREE parking, WiFi, business center and full hot breakfast provide a desirable home base from which to discover your surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Heritage Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Heritage Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.