We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate yet pricey. Decent breakfast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 E. McLeod Road, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Adequate yet pricey. Decent breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel while in Bellingham for a soccer tournament. The location is quite good if you're a shopper: essentially, it's right across the street from the Bellis Fair Mall. We could have gotten a cheaper room at a different hotel, but our group was, for the most part, staying here so we went with the flow. Our room was nice and clean and had a good TV, but the AC unit was super loud. The outdoor pool was a nice escape from the heat and was clean and tidy. The included continental breakfast was better than most, although they ran out of cutlery. Staff was helpful and courteous. A tad on the pricey side, but otherwise very adequate.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms appear to be quite close to the highway. Beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara A, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Gareth F. Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Heritage Inn. I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy some of our wonderful amenities, like our pool and our complimentary full hot breakfast! We do have a very unique and convenient location and I am pleased to hear it worked out for your team to stay during the fun filled soccer weekend. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Tamara Addis
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    132
    33
    14
    4
See reviews for
112
158
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here overnight because my son was incoming on an 8am flight the next morning -- this appears to be a former townhouse or business park converted to motel / inn accommodation. It lends a 'funkiness' to the grounds and layout. Large trees and lush grounds override the fact that you are mere meters off I-5 NB.

Recently, I have taken up using this chain after a long absence and have been pleased -- this property was pleasing with a clean, comfortable room on ground level.

There is adequate amenities, including their included breakfast, good wifi, free coffee and tea - the real bonus is location: easy to I-5, easy to Bellis Fair Mall, and other shopping, and less than 10 minutes to BLI. There are restaurants and stores sharing the same frontage as this Best Western (I was not impressed with the Mexican restaurant across the parking lot - and would rate the food as 'mediocre').

The nightly rate was slightly higher than many of my recent Best Western stays, and I am guessing they are taking advantage of their attractive location. It's worth the extra $'s.
Parking is also a bit of an issue as the evening deepens -- and of course there will most likely be the BrightBoy from BC parking his Dodge Ram in a spot designed for a Honda Fit --- and the spots near the front entrance seem to be very popular.

Room Tip: There seemed to a lot of stairs and changes in elevation from the parking lot to entrances -- if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara A, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us, I would also like to say welcome back to Best Western! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our unique property location and layout surrounding picturesque Baker Creek. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed some of our wonderful amenities during your stay, including our full hot breakfast. I hope our staff and property exceeded your expectations during your stay. We look forward to your next trip to Bellingham.

Tamara Addis
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed Bellingham and the hotel very much. Good linens, comfortable beds and a friendly staff, all for a reasonable price. An above average Best Western hotel. Don't get to Bellingham very often but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara A, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Theresa R- Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Heritage Inn. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our new plush beds and linens. I hope our always friendly and amazing staff made your trip enjoyable. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Tamara Addis
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here the first weekend in may. We booked on hotwire and were very pleased with our stay. Its a block away from Bellisfair mall which was the reason we were visiting Bellingham so that was great. The front desk was very nice and allowed us to get to our room early which was fantastic. We were thrilled with our room! Top floor, king bed, spacey room and a view of the pool. The continental breakfast in the morning was great way to start the day with lots of options. The only down side was how thin the walls are. Our neighbours were up at 4am and we could hear absolutely everything! Other than that we had a great stay and i would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara A, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our new plush beds, spacious rooms and the full hot breakfast. I am pleased that our staff was able to accomodate your early check in upon your arrival. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Tamara Addis
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights last week (Thurs., Fri., Sat.) and enjoyed it immensely. We booked fairly early and I had requested a room facing the creek per other reviewers suggestions. We got the location we had asked for and also a very clean, quiet and good sized room. All the staff from the front desk to housekeeping were really friendly and welcoming and were nice enough to Google lots of directions for us as we explored Bellingham
All in all we had a great stay at this hotel and seemed particularly good for multi-night stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara A, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay and our staff at the Best Western Plus Heritage Inn.
I am glad to hear that all of your room requests were met upon check in, and that you enjoyed one of our spacious rooms with a view of Baker Creek. We have a very unique location and layout that can make you feel like you are tucked in away from busy streets. It is wonderful to hear that you found all of our staff to be friendly and welcoming. We hope you come back and stay with us the next time you are in Bellingham.

Tamara Addis
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at this property through a blind bid on Priceline, so I probably paid significantly less than other guests. It was a giant bargain though! My winning bid was for $55, versus the $145 it would have been to book that night through any regular website- I checked. If you want to try, it was a 2.5 star, which makes me wonder what the 3 star hotels in Bellingham are, as this was a super nice place. My husband and I were both very impressed. Our room was spacious, impeccably clean, and in good condition- nothing seemed rundown or worn out. There was a little nook with a Keurig coffee maker (fancy!) and a mini sink on top, and underneath a microwave and mini fridge, which I liked.

The bathroom had nice details like a built-in nightlight and lovely toiletries. The shower felt large and had really nice pressure and a good showerhead.

We didn't use any of the amenities, but they have a hot tub, outdoor pool, and fitness centre. We did appreciate that you didn't need a password or complicated sign-in for the free wifi.

The free breakfast was way better than I expected. Besides the usual stuff like breads, cereal, oatmeal, fruit etc, they had waffles, eggs, sausage, and even sausage gravy (which I'm sure paired well with the biscuits!) It was all pretty tasty- like McDonald's-level tasty, yes, it's a free breakfast, not a gourmet restaurant. But tasty nonetheless. The breakfast room was just as clean and nicely kept as our room.

The location is right off the highway, but quiet. Very near Bellis Fair and other shopping.

We live in Vancouver, and we don't ever really need to stay in Bellingham, but if we did, we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in building C, which didn't have any elevators, so depending what floor you're on, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara A, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review about our hotel and amazing staff! It definitely sounds like you got one of our spacious and amazing rooms at a great price off your winning bid on Priceline. I am glad that you enjoyed our rooms with the newly added Keurig Coffee makers, just a little extra touch to help make you feel at home, I am also glad that you enjoyed our full hot breakfast and all of the amazing items it offers. We invite you to stay with us again on your next visit to Bellingham.

Tamara Addis
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family and I stayed here may 19th 2013 ( I am in the room as we speak ) We go down to seattle 3-4 times a year for a shopping trip .Upon arrival we realized this is more of a motel than a Hotel, Check-in was fine and got our room Key and we are in the second building with the hot tub .When we got to the building I saw there were probably 10-15 young adults in there drinking up a storm in the hot tub so I guess my family wont be able to enjoy it as they were there the whole time , at 9:45 There are kids screaming in the hallways and people slamming doors and it is so loud it is waking up my 6 and 8 year olds! and it is still going on as I type !!! , also you can hear every singe foot step and every word they say in the room above us ,I can not Believe the noise in this place it is absoulutly terrible .Also there is a bag of Garbage sitting in the hallway since we have got here, I can not believe the reviews people give this place for the price of the room .Sorry My family will not be staying here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara A, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I am sorry to hear about all of the troubles you encountered during your stay. The hot tub is for all guests to utilize during their stay, and I apologize it wasn't available for your use. We also to our best to enforce a noise policy as best as we can and I am sorry to hear that you had a very noisy night. It would be my pleasure to invite you back to stay with us again and give us the opportunity to earn back your business. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will personally handle your reservation.

Tamara Addis
Sales & Marketing Manager
P. 360-647-1912 ext. 14
Taddis@BestWesternHeritageInn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn

Address: 151 E. McLeod Road, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn is a 90-room limited service hotel appealing to business and leisure travelers. As well as small groups. Located near I-5 at exit 256, it is within minutes of the best of what Bellingham WA has to offer…from beautiful Bellingham Bay to vibrant downtown, to Fairhaven district, to Western Washington University and more.The hotel’s familiar look complements its neighborhood feel. And its luxury hotel beds, fitness center, outdoor seasonal pool and enclosed hot tub, plus FREE parking, WiFi, business center and full hot breakfast provide a desirable home base from which to discover your surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Heritage Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Heritage Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.