We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They care but avoid the basement rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 E. McLeod Road, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“They care but avoid the basement rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is one of these properties where if our expectations wasn't high, we would have been ok because it was just $100/night but the reviews have been just fantastic on Tripadvisor and the management of the hotel follows the reviews so we felt we finally found a decent and cost effective place in Bellingham! We travel quite a bit from Vancouver and we have yet to find a great hotel here. It's much easier to find an upscale, cost effective hotel in Seattle but the availability is small in Bellingham (for some unknown reason) and the cost is very high for what you get. We booked at Best Western at this location after reading the glamerous reviews. We have stayed at the other Best Western in Bellingham several times but it was our first time at this location. It's just adjacent to I5 so we knew there would be highway noise but we were traveling with a small pet that weekend and selection is small even without that factor. When we arrived, they told us the room was "right around the corner, down the stairs" As I headed down, I had to come back up to the ground floor to ask "In the basement??" and they said "yes, the property is on a slope, it's not really a basement". Well folks, this is the first time in my life I have stayed at a hotel with basement rooms! It's a partial basement in that because of the slope there is a window but the outside of the window is flush with the ground so a good portion of the room is below ground. It feels like a basement. They were not able to move us because the hotel was full. We put up with it - it was late and availability in Bellingham is always difficult (great place to run a hotel!). The next morning, we were woken up early by housekeeping/maintenance crew using a room in the shared corridor. Noise from plates, loud talking etc. I wasn't happy at all. I generally prefer more upscale places and this made me regret the whole experience going with a most "cost effective" solution. On check out, I explained to the manager that although the hotel is generally nice and the staff are very friendly, the rooms in that 1xx basement corridors really made it a completely unpleasant experience. The manager not only genuinely sympathized but offered us a substantial discount. I would have rated this hotel a 1/5 based on the basement rooms and noise but with the management not only apologized (which I never take seriously, it's too easy to say "Oh, Sorry") but actually proved it with the serious discount. If there is a way, the reservation system should flag these odd basement rooms with "it's a basement room with a noisy utility room in the corridor". Some people might not care but I'm not a basement type of person. If it wasn't for that issue, I think this property is a solid 4/5 and even a 5/5 based on very reasonable price (in an otherwise overpriced Bellingham market).

Room Tip: Any rooms in the 100-112 are likely the basement rooms. A small minority. West side is adjacent to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about our hotel. I am pleased that I was able to handle your concerns in person at check out before you left. It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you when you return to Bellingham. If you decide to give us that opportunity then please call me at the hotel personally and I will set up your room for you and meet any requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    157
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
142
183
26
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

We came to Bellingham to visit family and stayed here for 5 days. The rooms are cozy, clean and very well priced. Fresh coffee all days - really good coffee, and crunchy Heath cooked in the afternoon. Breakfast is free and a REAL breakfast. We were very impressed and would definitely recommend this hotel. It's right next to the mall, right off the expressway so location for us was great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback about our Hotel! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken great care to provide a good breakfast to our Guests so I am glad that you found it to your liking. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Very nice front desk staff and pet friendly... for a fee... our pet received a welcome gift with food, water, treats, and waste bags. The reception area in he lobby has a nice living room decor with fireplace. The room furnishings and decor are pretty decent, but the beds were too soft for our old backs! The heating/cooling is the noisy individual in room units that freaks out our little yorkie. Next to the highway and walking distance to the shopping center and restaurants. Serves hot breakfast including waffles. Hot tub not working during our short stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for leaving feedback about our Hotel! I am pleased that you liked our Pet welcome gift that we provide to all of our furry friends at check in. I apologize for the hot tub not working during your visit. It broke down unexpectedly and we had to special order a part for it. Needless to say it was hard for us to wait for the part while our Guests were looking forward to using the hot tub. It is fixed and in good working order now. So hopefully you can enjoy it during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Good location, nice and confortable room, plus friendly service

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night during a quick cross-border shopping trip in November. Being that it's a a Best Western I wasn't expecting it to be overly nice or fancy. Once we arrived to the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised with how different it was from the other Best Western hotels I have stayed at in the past! The room was lovely and even though we were close to the highway, it wasn't as noisy as I had feared. We had upgraded to the king sized bed, which I found to be very comfortable! My husband and I slept right through the night...something neither of us have done in a long time. There was a wonderful breakfast that was included in the price of our stay. We had waffles, eggs, sausage and fruit. Yum!

The only disappointing part of our stay was that even though the check out time is noon, the cleaning crew banged on our door at 9:25 am. We had no intention on staying until noon and had already been for breakfast and showered...but what if we had wanted to lounge around in bed until 10 or 11? I think that perhaps the staff could hold off on the door knocking until at least 10 am.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Consists of three, three-story buildings, third of which is across the street. Sits back from busy main road and strip mall. Variety of nearby restaurants. Check-in was quick and easy - staff friendly. Our unit was on the ground floor at the far end of the building behind the office, down a set of stairs. Immediately noted that sound-proofing could be improved, as the hallway exit door could be heard every time it was used. Room was smaller than say, a typical Hampton. Nicely decorated. Included a desk but the chair space between desk and bed called for turning the chair and sliding in. Flat panel TV - but as a small window faced the beds, the TV was mounted on the side wall so that you needed to turn your head if lying on the beds to view it. Had difficulty with accessing the close captioning - called and received a quick maintenance response - they needed another remote. Accessed internet with ease - speed was acceptable. Closet space was an issue - the standard-size closet door opened to a closet depth of no more than a foot or so - ok for one night if not unpacking. Beds comfortable. Grounds well-maintained and landscaped with small outdoor pool and hot tub and a creek running through the property. Breakfast was served in building across the street - your room card was required to enter the dining area. Food was fresh and hot - typical breads, fruits, waffle-maker, eggs, sausage, etc. Overall impression - some nice features offset the smaller room - but would opt for something with a bit more space next time in the area.

Room Tip: ensure you are in the middle of a building - away from exit doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Heritage Inn from Friday to Saturday November 18/19th. We checked in and Arika and Anna helped us..they were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome from the minute we stepped in the door. We were given a room on the first floor 211. It was at the end of the hall near the exit door so easy in and out but a bit noisy with people coming and going...but nothing upsetting or disturbing at all.
There was an ice machine and vending machine down the hall from us and also a business center and a little coffee corner where we could make hot choc, apple cider, coffee and a plate of amazing cookies.
The girls at the desk also said the hotel had a library of DVD movies we could choose from...all listed nicely in a binder with a right up of each movie. Lots to choose from and they gave us a bag of microwave popcorn as well....so nice.
Thanks for the great stay.
We were within a few minutes drive of Walmart, Bellis Fair, Starbucks....etc. Lots of shopping and great restaurants...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn

Address: 151 E. McLeod Road, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#2 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn is a 90-room limited service hotel appealing to business and leisure travelers. As well as small groups. Located near I-5 at exit 256, it is within minutes of the best of what Bellingham WA has to offer…from beautiful Bellingham Bay to vibrant downtown, to Fairhaven district, to Western Washington University and more.The hotel’s familiar look complements its neighborhood feel. And its luxury hotel beds, fitness center, outdoor seasonal pool and enclosed hot tub, plus FREE parking, WiFi, business center and full hot breakfast provide a desirable home base from which to discover your surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Heritage Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Heritage Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.