We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Impressive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 E. McLeod Road, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Simply Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Ok....I am impressed...and I don't get impressed easily!!!

This Best Western sports a modern heritage look. It is beautiful and span across 3 buildings with pool/hot tubs in the center, while a creek runs along the main building. While it is very close to the I-5, it is very quiet and feel like you are somewhere else, like in a miniature forest.

The room is simply beautiful, with lots of Victorian and modern decor. We had room 117 which had 2 queen beds, and a superb bathroom with the very trendy ''walk in shower'' all ceramic titled with the wonderful ''U'' shower bar that provides twice the room once in the shower. There is a flat screen TV and DVD combo. They provide DVD rental free or charge at the front desk, along with a complimentary pack of popcorn (microwave and fridge is also in the room). They must have well over 100 DVD titles, most of them fairly new. There is a beautiful fitness area (which I did not have the chance to use this time around) and the hotel also provide ''park and fly'' at a very reasonable rate. If you have the chance to get this hotel under a corporate/government or other discount fare, you should pay around 87$ for the night, which is the best deal given the quality of this hotel.
There are many many restaurants around (we went to the Thai Room just located 5 minutes by foot, which was delicious) and the Mall is very close by.
The hotel offers free cookies and coffee all day long and continental breakfast. The reception area is staff by extremely capable, polite and professional ladies and it was a pleasure dealing with them both.

As I said...I am impressed and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask a room away from the highway although I am being told that all rooms are noise free
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    150
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
133
176
24
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is the second time that I have stayed at this property using a group block. We had multiple rooms that were all perfect for our needs. This property is perfect for groups that are traveling. As stated in my previous review, the breakfast is amazing and perfect to save some dollars on group travel. In addition the property is 800 Meters from the Bellis Fair Mall. Lots to do, and tons of eating and entertainment options within walking distance.

The property has three buildings with rooms in it. If you book a group, make sure you ask to have your entire group on the same floor, or at least in the same building.

Please read my previous review for details on the property. The complimentary Coffee throughout the day is a bonus, as was the complimentary WI-FI and Free newspaper that can be picked up in the main lobby.

The only ding that I have, that I didn't notice the last time I was here was how loud the exterior doors are that lead into each floor at each building. They are loud...No way to sugar coat that..I don't see that there would be much difference if you had a room in the middle of the floor, or on the end....The doors latch tight for security, but they are loud, and were the only bummer that I experienced at the property.

Regardless of the doors, book here with confidence. We don't stay at a ton of Best Westerns, but this property is a great option regardless of the chain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed here a number of times, always thought it was a hidden gem, it deserves the plus rating. Great cookies served in the afternoon

Room Tip: near the entrance where the cookies are
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My experience inspired me to write a review, something I don not normally do. My husband and I decided to spend the night in Bellingham on our way to Canada, and decided to call around the hotels to get the best deal. Caitlyn, at the front desk, was pleasant and cheerful on the phone, answered all of my questions and promised me she would remember me when we arrived at the hotel. Sure enough, my husband and I walked in and knew exactly who I was. There were other guests in the lobby and Caitlyn and Tammy ensured everyone was taken care of and provided excellent customer service; together they went above and beyond. Thanks again ladies.
I would definitely stay here again......

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

very good high four-poster bed & linens, closet with door, good size bathroom with newish fixtures. Desk/workstation had 'Aeron' style chair & was near window.

(only issues: large flatscreen TV was virtually impossible to turn on/off, even with assistance from staff; couldn't get wireless or wired internet to work.)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Good reception, our room was in the basement, however nice (but not as nice as the ones in the pictures...). Very comfortable and clean accommodation (with a modern TV, small fridge, updated washroom).
The subject hotel is located in a strip mall, close to the main shopping area of Bellingham and the I5 highway. Location is an asset but could be a problem if you are looking for a calmer or more glamorous site. Nice pool, good breakfast (breakfast room appeared to be under staffed, only one young girl doing the work of 3 or 4 people). We also tried the Mexican restaurant in front of the lobby: Decent Mexican cuisine with a huge menu.
Good hotel, so and so location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed Sat night over Memorial Day weekend to make a budget priced two day trip with our dog to Bellingham to enjoy the parks, all spectacular and some are leash free, the Bellwether marina and Boundary Bay IPA. Never expected to get a forest view of a shady, grass area by a brook -- which was handy for late night dog walking. The front desk was sweet, gave out good directions and freshly baked cookies. The bed spread and pillows were more luxe were a surprise too. The free breakfast is always OK. This is quite a nice BW property. Definitely would stay here again.

(Travelers from afar note: When the weather is warm in the northwest, many hotels, particularly close to the water, have a two night minimum on the weekend. At Christmas time when it's not warm or dry, and the rates are seasonally discounted, we spring for a room at the Bellwether with a balcony overlooking the bay.)

Room Tip: Dog friendly room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn

Address: 151 E. McLeod Road, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Green Hotel in Bellingham
#2 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn is a 90-room limited service hotel appealing to business and leisure travelers. As well as small groups. Located near I-5 at exit 256, it is within minutes of the best of what Bellingham WA has to offer…from beautiful Bellingham Bay to vibrant downtown, to Fairhaven district, to Western Washington University and more.The hotel’s familiar look complements its neighborhood feel. And its luxury hotel beds, fitness center, outdoor seasonal pool and enclosed hot tub, plus FREE parking, WiFi, business center and full hot breakfast provide a desirable home base from which to discover your surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Heritage Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Heritage Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.