We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Familiar comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bellingham
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Familiar comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We've stayed at the Lakeway many times. It's always the same - and that's a good thing! That's why we keep coming back. The rooms are nice, the staff are friendly, the location is convenient to visiting downtonw/Fairhaven/our kid at Western, and it' s affordable. Our tip: don't try to turn left out of the main entrance - instead, sneak through the Fred Meyer parking lot to the light.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    119
    49
    16
    6
See reviews for
101
83
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethany, OK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Besides the Inn being wonderfully located to everywhere we wanted to go, the rooms were spacious, clean and extremely comfortable! The bed, linens and pillows are worth trying to figure out how one can get them in one's own home!
I intereacted with several members of the staff and was never once disappointed; I felt they were all just there to assist me. They did a great job!
The area is beautiful and worth more than one more trip! Next time we need to have more than one free day!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

we got the room on priceline for one night at a rate $40 less than the website price so we were happy. our flt departed at 5:30am from bellingham so we chose the best western and parked the car there for one week. no incidences and no troubles at all. everything went smoothly. the only thing is that the room they gave us were 2 doubles so it is not comfortable for 2 adults to share a bed. they claim they were full so they couldn't upgrade us to 2 queens but i think they didn't want to upgrade as we booked through priceline. it was fine for the 1 night but any longer i would not sleep in the double bed with my husband.
hotel location quite convenient because it was right beside the fred meyers so you can always pick up a few things.
all in all, i would not pay more than $90 night for the 2 doubles !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakewayInnFOM, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
Thank you so much for the nice review. I do apologize you could not be upgraded into a room with two queens. We have been upgrading all of our mattresses and recently all of our rooms with two queens were closed because of it. In addition, I will have you know, we do not discriminate against anyone simply because they booked on Priceline. We value all of our guests equally and strive to make sure their stay is an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whidbey island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

nice hotel i liked it i liked the swimming pool they have inside the hotel

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed here in December to do some Christmas shopping at the nearby mall.

The Good-

The hotel was bigger than we expected with a very nice lobby area and an indoor pool that would be ideal for those with kids.

The room was very nice, clean and spacious.

The bar area was good (although incredibly cold for some reason).

The Bad-

The restaurants within walking distance of the hotel were very poor. We went to Sadighi's, which was just over the road, and spent our time listening to the sound of a microwave pinging. Possibly the worst meal I've had in America.

Shuttle- We were hoping that the advertised shuttle would run us to the mall (only about 5 mins away) but were told that it was "for transportation" only (meaning the airport I guess). As the shuttle never moved all day this didn't really make much sense.

Staff- the staff are not bad but are mostly local students so tend to be half asleep most of the time. Not a big issue but don't expect top rate customer service.

All in all it's a good stopover hotel on the I-5 and I would stay here again but probably for one night only.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakewayInnFOM, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
Thank you so much for the review. I am glad to hear you, for the most part, had a great time. Unfortunately the shuttle is strictly for the Transportation hubs only due to the fact the Front Desk are the only ones authorized to run the shuttle. So unfortunately if we do not have the staff on we can not run it. However, if there was proper staffing, if it is available we would be glad to take anyone to the mall. As for the service, although most are college kids, half asleep service is definitely not what they are trained for. I will make sure all are aware of this at our next front desk meeting. Thank you so much for the comments and we look forward to taking care of you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

The service from reception to room service to the restaurents were all very friendly, cheerful and helpful. Our room was spacious and all we ever need was in there.
The hotel is easy to find once you leave the Interstate and very close-by.
Overall, this was a wonderful stopover, the hotel was nicely decorated for Christmas and the location of the swimmingpool in the center under the roofed top is an excellent idea.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Great location, lovely good-sized rooms for an especially reasonable price in Bellingham. The room was attractive, immaculately clean, quiet, comfortable, and the bed and linens were so comfortable. The room rate charge was lower than when the reservation was originally made--amazing they would honor the lower rate!! A great value here for dollars spent. You can't go wrong staying at the Best Western in Bellingham--much nicer than other Best Western locations in Washington and Montana.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Address: 714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lakeway Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Lakeway Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.