We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Onchan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here on business and found all the staff very friendly both in the hotel and in the pub. Food both for breakfast and served in the pub at night was tasty and good value. The Mac n Cheese and Fish n Chips were my favourites washed down with Angry Orchard cider.

Room Tip: Ask the barmen in the pub to recommend a good local beer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Big Bri-

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed it and we are also glad you enjoyed our pub menu! Look for some more exciting changes to our pub menu in the coming months.

Thanks again!

Best,

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    126
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
106
86
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years. I have had good stays and bad stays.....unfortunately my last stay was only so so.

The room we were booked into had air conditioning that was not functioning properly. It was extremely noisy and did not cool the room properly. To their credit the front desk moved us to another room which was much larger with a functional air conditioner. But the bad part was the room was on the far side of the hotel right next to the I5 which made it quite noisy.

Upon check out no one asked how was our stay which I found unusual.

I would recommend when making reservations to request and inside room or a room facing Fred Meyer. Although I wonder if they even look at requests. I always make that request when staying at the Lakeway Inn and 8/10 times I get a room facing the I5 and have to be moved.

That being said I am sure I will be staying there again.

The good........nice pool and hot tub. The beds have been upgraded and are very comfortable.
The lobby is being renovated and looks like it will be fabulous when finished. Also a great pub in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Innocent Bystander-

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are sorry to hear it was not outstanding.

To hear you are not getting your requested location is disheartening. If you could contact me direct at dana@bellingham-hotel.com, I would like to discuss your stay further.

Again, we apologize for this stay and look forward to hearing from you.

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was a very nice hotel in a good location for the price. We've stayed at other places in Bellingham that were not very good establishments. We would stay here again, as it was clean, friendly, and visually appealing. There is a coffee shop and a small restaurant located downstairs. We also loved The Market, located just across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Luv 2 Travel-

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us! Look for our brand new restaurant to open in early August 2014 then our room renovations begin this December!

Best,

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the Memorial Weekend, which is also the big "Ski to Sea" weekend in Bellingham. I don't know if this is the reason the rate was twice as much as I would expect to pay for a BW, but the value was NOT evident.
The room was humid and smelled of chlorine from the swimming pool down the hall which iis exposed to most of the hotel room entrances rather than being enclosed.
The room itself had an older television, not the more updated flat HD screen; the bed was concave and way too soft.
The exercise facility had barely any equipment, most appearing to be quite old.
Oh yes, and breakfast was not included in the rate.
Not sure where the "PLUS" was in this BW Plus.
The good news is the staff did give us a break on the rate after we shared our concerns but only after we asked for a rate reduction.
The hotel will need a renovation before I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
frg49jms-

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We apologize the hotel was not to your satisfaction and you didn't get a good value. Some changes have occured since your visit. We have added an all expanded HD lineup now, we are in the process of planning our full room renovations to begin in December, this is in addition to our full lobby and restaurant renovations going on right now. Our fitness center will be completely redone this fall. We also have started offering rates including breakfast to go along with non breakfast rates.

We hope to see you again real soon and thank you again for staying with us.

Best,

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Fine facility, comfortable beds, nice indoor pool. Conveniently located close to downtown restaurants and adjacent to a Fred Meyer store. Friendly helpful staff. I am waiting to hear my resolution to a web site offer of billing in CA$ at par that hotel staff were unaware of.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Terry N-

Thank you so much for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed it! Sorry for the confusion with the rate. It appears you did get the 10% off discount for At Par. If that is not what you were told, contact me direct at dana@bellingham-hotel.com or 360-392-6550.

We look forward to seeing you again real soon! Come back after July 31 to see our brand new lobby and restaurant!

Best,

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very comfortable beds! I highly recommend this hotel!! The staff was very polite and helpful. We very much enjoyed the Poppies Bar. The wait staff in bar were very polite and knowledgeable.I would stay at this hotel again when I visit Bellingham, Washington.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Beverly H-

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding your stay. We will make sure everyone gets a chance to see them. We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Best,

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed for just one night, but we had a good stay. Room was clean, including the bathroom (many are not), checked, no bed bugs, and all amenities worked just fine! Staff was polite and friendly, and very helpful telling us where sight seeing areas were. Shopping is practically next door, as well many different eateries. Will stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
ormbrek-

We are humbled by the kind comments regarding your recent review with us! Our lobby and restaurant renovation will be done in late July and we hope you get a chance to see it! Our room renovation will begin this November to bring a brand new stay!

We look forward to hosting you again real soon!

Best,

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Address: 714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lakeway Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Lakeway Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.