We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location & Very Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Lucia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Location & Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Lakeway this weekend after a charity event for Blue Skies for Children Saturday night. We loved the location of the hotel and the staff at the event were excellent. We also dinned at Poppe's and the server Michelle went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of. The room was very large and the bed was comfortable. I am extremely sensitive to hard beds and was so thankful that the bed was comfortable and that we were able to get a wonderful nights rest. We had left over food from the event and it was great to have the small fridge to store everything. We definitely will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Cecilia_Carson-

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed it! Also, thank you for the kind words regarding Michelle. We will make sure everyone gets a chance to see them!

We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Best,

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    137
    55
    19
    10
See reviews for
118
97
27
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Coming in with our son for model UN, Lakeway is closeby the activities and on "the list". After getting the last two rooms online we headed up for our weekend in Bellingham. Right off 5 on Lakeway Drive, what is missing in a lake, is made up for by a great check in team and obsessive cleanliness. When we checked in, we asked about ratings for the group which we didn't receive online. While we were happy with the rate - what is the worst that could happen by asking, right? Well without hesitation, the manager said, absolutely - and lowered our room rate by $50 per night per room. Wow! Way to go Lakeway. Everyone from the restaurant team to workers we see in the hall are very friendly and always ask how we are doing. There is always a lift when people appear to genuinely care. What a difference!

The beds are the perfect mix of firm and dreamy (I travel all the time, and I slept on these beds better than at the Montage), and the room is very functional with microwave, fridge and abundant free wifi that had no problems with video (sadly, can't get that everywhere). Sure you don't have an ocean view, but walking trails and quaint Fairhaven are a skip and a jump away.

So while some would consider the Lakeway your regular freeway rest stop for the night - the experience in service and consideration elevates it beyond. Thanks to the team at Lakeway for making our weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
mcclungp-

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are humbled by the kind words you had for us during your stay. I will make sure everyone on staff gets a chance to see this review.

And get ready for all the improvements coming to our property over the next year. We are beginning our lobby and restaurant renovation now and will finish up in the guest rooms in the 4th quarter. And don't worry, we will be going with the same mattresses!

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best,

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just a comment, but if you are arriving by Amtrak before check-in time, don't have the expectation that you will be able to check in early. We were a family of four that was basically too tired to experience Bellingham just yet, so we took breakfast in the hotel cafe and camped out for a couple of hours in the lobby, within clear view of the front desk. I guess I thought hotel staff would pick up on our situation--that my son was napping on the couch--and would have sought to prepare a room for us? I am speaking from past experiences where hotels have provided exceptional (i.e. service that you never even saw coming and left you with a big ol' smile on your face) customer service and I guess I had too high hopes here. Thirty minutes to check-in time (3pm), a family member approached the front desk again checking to see if a room had become available and one had. It would have been nice if someone from the front desk had initiated this update rather than us seeking it out. Overall, not a great first impression.

As for the room, it's what you expect it to be--as it should always be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
msamych-

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear about your delay in getting a room. We can understand after a long travel day how this can be frustrating not to get in to a room and just take the shoes off and relax. With that said, although we do not guarantee check in until 3pm, we should be able to get you in early whenever possible. I will say, unfortunately, we had 2 floors closed due to a sprinkler install project which unfortunately left us with limited rooms to access to clean early. I will remind my team that this should be made aware of and if rooms won't be ready till later, for the team to help you to make your wait a comfortable one.

In addition, this is just the beginning of multiple projects throughout our building over the next year. Next we will be doing a full lobby remodel and restaurant remodel. Then, this winter, we will be redoing all of our rooms. Exciting times are coming to the Lakeway Inn and I hope you get a chance to experience them!

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great place for a weekend getaway. The staff was great. Room was very large and comfortable. The indoor swimming pool and hot tub were wonderful. Nice to have an onsite restaurant with good food and quick service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Patti G-

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed it! Look for some exciting changes coming to our hotel in the coming months. We will also be doing some awesome patio barbeques coming up here this summer.

We look forward to hosting you again here real soon!

Best,

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Love this hotel. Great staff. Rooms have everything you need including free internet. Perfect location, close to freeway and downtown. I always stay here when visiting. I have never had any problems. The free parking is really nice too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Julie M-

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us! We truly appreciate it! Look for some exciting changes coming to the hotel in the near future to make your experience that much better.

We look forward to hosting you again here soon!

Best,

Mr. Dana Weber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

All went well. The hotel should consider a small % off the breakfast cost for guests. A computer glitch jumped my room price from $120 to $189;I assume that the glitch will soon be fixed, but it would be wise to check at check-in just to be sure; I found the error. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
hawaiiart,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your most recent stay with us. It makes the entire Lakeway Inn team very happy to hear how well the stay went for you.

Your suggestions are much appreciated and help in letting us know what we do well at the property, as well as what can be improved on. Our Front Desk staff take an active roll in ensuring room prices are accurate. That being said, we want to thank you for bringing the small discrepancy you had experienced to our attention in order to ensure proper corrections are made!

We certainly hope to have you with us again and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Caitlin Cook
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I spend 12 nights here a year, usually 3-4 nights a time. The amenities are great. The shuttle is a treat. The front desk always help no matter what time I arrive. The pool, fitness center, restaurant, and lounge and location next to Fred Meyers are all pluses. Good price for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Kathleen W,

It is always such a pleasure to have you with is! The Front Desk, as well as all of our other staff, try our hardest to ensure that every guest is well accommodated. It is our main goal to exceed our guest's expectations and I am very happy to hear how happy you are during your times here in the area.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful comment on your recent visit at the Lakeway Inn. Have a lovely rest of your day!

Caitlin Cook
Front Office and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Address: 714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Best Western, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lakeway Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Lakeway Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.