We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Comfortable Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Comfortable Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were in town touring WWU with my high school son and decided to stay here. Good clean hotel that was close to the school & close to downtown Bellingham. Everyone was very friendly. I really don't get the whole pool in the atrium of all of the rooms. We were exhausted and turned in early and did find the noise from that a bit bothersome, but it was early. I believe by 10pm the noise was over. Had I been out still enjoying Bellingham, we would have never had known it was loud in my room from the pool. Didn't eat at the hotel at all, but it did look like a nice option. We chose to explore the town instead.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
denvrgal,

Reading your review of your recent stay at the Lakeway Inn was such a pleasure. Your thoughtful comments and observations are much appreciated and all of our staff are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. We all aim to ensure every guest enjoys themselves.

If we do have the pleasure of having you with us again, I certainly hope you will get a chance to enjoy our on property Oboe Cafe and Poppe's. We also encourage our guests to always feel free to communicate any room preferences. In the future, we may be able to arrange for a room facing away from our indoor pool to ensure for a more quiet stay.

I hope that you and your son enjoyed Western Washington University and wish you luck on the college and university hunt! Hopefully we will see you again if his decision ends with attending WWU!

Caitlin Cook
Front Office and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    138
    55
    19
    11
See reviews for
119
97
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at this Best Western on the way down from AK and were very pleased with the accommodations which were reasonably priced. The hotel restaurant served excellent meals and we were very satisfied with everything we ate there. We were surprised locals didn't frequent this eatery but were told they probably didn't know it was there. Fred Meyer is a short walk from the hotel which was convenient for the 3 days we stayed. The staff was very helpful and courteous and made our stay very enjoyable. We will be returning to AK soon and plan to stop and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
BlackIsis,

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn team is so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind review of your stay and the meals you had a chance to enjoy at our on property Oboe Cafe and Poppe's Bistro & Lounge. I will be certain to pass your thoughtful comments on to all of the staff!

All of our staff make an effort to be as helpful and courteous as possible. Our goal is to do what we can to ensure an enjoyable stay for our guests. This is especially so when we have guests like yourself visiting from as far as Alaska!

It was an absolute pleasure having you with us during your recent visit. We would love to have you here again on your return trip, of course! Please feel free to contact our reservations at any time: 360-671-1011 or 1-888-671-1011.

Looking forward to your next visit already!

Caitlin Cook
Front Office and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great location and excellent service. I enjoyed my stay and loved the Bar/Lounge area. Very refreshing! I would definitely come back as I always do. Hopefully they will start offering gluten free food products. The pool side is wonderful as it is indoor and the have all the amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Fahmida A,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review of your recent stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn! It is easy to say that it was as much a pleasure having you with us as it was for you during your stay.

I am so happy to hear that you had a chance to enjoy our on property Poppe's Bistro & Lounge. Our staff work very hard to provide for a comfortable and relaxing environment for our guests and it will thrill the entire team to hear how refreshed it left you feeling.

Your suggestions for gluten free menu options are so thoughtful and greatly appreciated. I will certainly be communicating your suggestions to our Head Chef!

Caitlin Cook
Front Office and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a great hotel for dropping your students off at WWU. It is close to WWU, clean, reasonably priced, and quiet. The pool is in doors if you have other children that need entertainment. It is also close to down town activities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Joseph K,

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn is honored to be the hotel you and your family choose when visiting your children attending Western Washington University. The Lakeway Inn is a proud supporter of the students, faculty, and staff of Western Washington University and we are always so happy to house friends and family during visits.

We are looking forward to your next visit in to the Bellingham area and wish your student a happy academic year!

Caitlin Cook
Front Office and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked this hotel through Priceline, so we weren't sure what to expect. We were so pleased when we arrived! The hotel is extremely nice inside, the staff were friendly and the beds were SOOOOOO soft. Perfect location if you are shopping in Bellingham or Burlington and though it is close to the I-5, we never heard any traffic noise. I would definitely book again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
hescaravage,

It is always so warming to hear how pleased our guests are. It is one of our team's goals to not only meet, but exceed our guest's expectations. I hope I am not overreaching when I say that I am so thrilled to hear that we hit our mark during your recent stay with us.

I certainly do hope that you book with us again the next time you consider visiting the Bellingham area. Please feel free to ask our reservations about the shopping packages or any other weekend getaway packages we may have offered at that time! With dozens of coupons adding up to $1000 dollars off of local shopping, hopefully it will be worth looking in to for your next visit.

We hope that you consider us on your next ladies weekend and are already looking forward to it!

Caitlin Cook
Front Office and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great place for families, with indoor pool to keep the kids happy and busy for hours. Rooms decent and clean. Nice lobby, staff and good martin bar. Location is great for those who want to experience Bellingham's shopping, dining or nightlife. Minutes to Fairhaven.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Siobhan W,

We cannot express how thrilled our team is to hear about how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It's great news to hear how convenient it was for you to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn. Your comments are much appreciated and we certainly hope to have you with us again soon!

Please feel free to contact us at any time as we would be thrilled to see you in our area of Bellingham in the near future.

Looking forward to your next visit already!

Caitlin Cook
Front Office and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, WA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Friendly to pets (dogs). Excellent and comfy beds. Restaurant/Bar/Lounge is AWESOME! Full breakfast with something more than just powdered eggs and canned gravy. The temperature of the pool was actually warm enough to enjoy. Very friendly and welcoming staff - and actually smiling!!! We have stayed here a couple of times for leisure and when my husband travels to the area, this is his choice of places to stay. Definitely above average.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Joel B,

Your detailed review of your stays with us is so very thoughtful. The entire Lakeway Inn staff enjoy having you with us whenever you are in the Bellingham area and your patronage to our property is much appreciated.

Offering breakfast in the Oboe Café is a valued amenity to many of our guests and it seems to me that you enjoy it as well. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our Head Chef and the rest of the team.

Our staff set their aims high when it comes to guest satisfaction and I am always so happy to hear when it makes a difference for our guests. A smile sure can go a long way after a day of work, travel, shopping, or whatever else might bring our guests to the area. It is always so nice when our staff are recognized for their welcoming service and unparalleled efforts.

Thank you again for your thoughtfulness. I certainly hope that we will be seeing you again soon!

Caitlin Cook
Front Office and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Address: 714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lakeway Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Lakeway Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.