We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, we can” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Yes, we can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Don't you just love it when hotel staff step up to the plate . . . we booked through a third party (and, as some of you might know,) you can get the dregs/left overs when checking in. Knowing this and also knowing we were booked for 2 double beds for 3 persons, I called and asked what the chances were for two queens instead. Being the U.S. Thanksgiving weekend, I was not surprised to be told that they were, unfortunately, sold out of the queens. Oh well, I resigned myself to sleeping on a cramped bed (and we are tall people). Upon checking in, I asked in a 'oh well' tone about the queen beds. I was surprised and delighted that the gentleman checking us in told me that, after talking with me on the phone, he had upgraded one of their 'regulars' and assigned us a room with two queen beds. In addition, he had also granted my request for a quiet room on the top floor away from the pool atrium! Fantastic! Another pleasant surprise was when I went to the dining room requesting wine glasses to be given better than average glasses, not those less-than-ideal ones you usually come across. Bonus! I can tell you that my next time in Bellingham, I'm going to call the hotel direct and pay the going rate. That's how much I appreciated how well we were treated. Kudos to staff and management; they made our weekend with relatives even more special.

Room Tip: Top floor away from pool activity if you are not travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    127
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
107
86
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at how fantastic the hotel was. They'd done lots of renovations and the rooms were really really nice. The king size bed was super comfortable and staff was helpful. Had a great sleep!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Location is central to Bellingham. Very clean and the staff is professional and courteous. Friendly lounge. Has a restaurant, however nothing stands out on the menu...a little overpriced for the quality and quantity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purrfectville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Caution, "pet friendly" actually only means dogs are allowed. You will have to get special permission for other domesticated animals such as cats. The hotel has a surprisingly lovely lobby! The rooms are standard fair; the decor just what you would expect from a 1970's sitcom. The room was well situated and relatively comfortable, until you lay down on the bed. It was leftover from the '70's as well! The door dividing (or connecting) the room next to ours was thin enough we could hear our neighbor's dog the first night, baby the second, and a man's deep southern drawl the third night. But the real issue at this Worst Eastern occurs when you attempt in-room-dining!!! They boast of their Lounge/Bar, Cafe, and In-Room-Dining so much you would think they would realize they make it impossible for a guest to enjoy! First, the menu in the room does not match the menu in the kitchen, so when you call there is an impossible barrier to overcome! Even trying to order a cheeseburger becomes a 10 minute confusion clarification contest between the person placing the order and the employee taking it. And to top it off, the only employee working in the Cafe on our busy Saturday night was the person attempting to decipher incoming room service orders along with being responsible for delivering them making getting more than a soda ordered within our first 15 minutes impossible. When discussing this with the front desk we were blamed for being confused by their menu, rather than them taking responsibility for being the ones to cause the confusion they simply threw attitude and offered a free meal in their unprofessional establishment ~ something completely unappetizing!

Room Tip: Make sure you can see your car from your room! There was a break-in while we were there that we repo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island County, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Gym, sauna, a great lounge with happy hour and restaurant Rooms are very comfortable. Indoor swimming pool with seperate hot tub area. Located next to Fred Myer grocery store and right off of the highway. Breakfast is not included unless your a BW club member but their breakfasts are reasonably priced and cooked to order. Rooms are separated by double doors from the entry lobby and restraunts. A big water feature in lobby with grand staircase. Quiet with nice ambiance, especially after a long day working

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is your average hotel. Nothing special. The front desk girl was friendly, and the entrance area was nice and clean with some random guy playing the piano.
The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The tv reception was pretty bad though.
We had some appies and beers at the pub downstairs which was pretty quiet, but the bartender/server gave us really great service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel has an indoor pool and has a Fred Meyer store next door. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you to and from the airport. The staff do their best to accomodate you. This is the second time we have used this hotel when taking a trip at Bellingham airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Address: 714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lakeway Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Lakeway Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.