We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but can be improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but can be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Lakeway Inn is in a good location with easy access to shopping and the interstate. It is very easy to get coffee and food while on the way out to see the sights. I had room 301 with a view of the parking lot. I stayed for two nights on business.
The room was stuffy when we came in, the AC was off and it seemed as if the room was not used in awhile. We were located next to a stairwell and had one neighbor to the right of us. Noise was not an issue.
The chlorinated swimming pool is indoors so all of the rooms have a chlorinated scent to them. If you are sensitive to the smell of bleach, then this place is not for you. The whole place reeks of if. I don't mind too much, but it can be concerning to some people. I just opened the window and blew the fan overnight to relieve the stuffiness. A good can of Febreze is a good idea to bring with you during traveling.
It is in a desperate need of an update. The soap and shampoo dispensers in the showers are questionable. It is not as if they were dirty, but it seemed strange to continue to use an out dated method of dispensing. Many travelers prefer the single use toiletries, so the dispensers are just a cost savings measure. The toiletries seemed old since the lotion was caked up when trying to use it. Dust bunnies were abundant on the lamps and night stands.The refridgerator never got cold enough dispite turning it all the way up.
Front desk was very nice and informative. I did not try the cafe or lounge downstairs due to their poor reviews on Urbanspoon. Probably would not stay here if I was paying, but I can deal with it if traveling on business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Director of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Mary F-

Thank you for taking the time to write a recent review about your stay. I am very sorry to see that your stay was not up to satisfaction. This review will be reviewed with my entire team and corrective actions will be made if necessary.

Regarding the chlorine, it is run on an automatic system throughout the day. The smell of chlorine should not be so strong, so I will make sure the system is dispersing accurately.

Dust bunnies in the room are unacceptable and will be brought up at our upcoming housekeeping team meeting. I apologize you encountered that.

The dispensers used in the shower area is part of our green measures here at the hotel. We are aiming to cut down on soap and paper waste that comes with the individual bars. We are looking at upgrading the dispensers to something more modern here this year.

Our restaurants onsite have a brand new menu put out by our Executive Chef that we are very excited about. I really hope you consider stopping by on your next visit so we can show you a grand experience.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again real soon.

Make it a Great Day!

Mr. Dana Weber
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    126
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
106
86
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Best Western Lakeway Inn many times during the past dcade. Have always found the rooms and the public rooms quiet and clean. The excercise room is more than adequate and the large warm pool is wonderful for children and grand children. We frequently travel with 2 small dogs. They are always welcome. We have noticed no difference in the cleanliness between the "pet friendly" and non"pet friendly" rooms. We look forward to returning to this facility in Bellingham.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Director of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
wanderers1001-

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us! I will make sure everyone here on the team gets a chance to see them! I am glad to see the pet friendly rooms have been working for you. Our housekeeping team uses additional cleaning tactics to make sure those rooms are fresh for every guest. I am glad to see it working!

We hope to see you again here in the near future!

Make it a Great Day!

Mr. Dana Weber
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First time staying will return for sure. Easy to find ..liked the location. We were early so went to have a bite at Poppe's. Liked the layout of the lounge and had great service along with good food. Check in was quick. Enjoyed the room..comfortable, good bed and roomy enough. Our check out was fast also. Will come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Director of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Mosey_13-

Thank you for the kind words from your recent stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again here in the near future!

Make it a Great Day!

Mr. Dana Weber
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We needed to unexpectedly stay overnight in Bellingham and ended up staying in the Lakeway Best Western right off the freeway. Where it may first seem like a typical cheap hotel, this particular Best Western is really nice. The inside is very well appointed, with lots and lots of close shopping close by. There are 2 different restraunts that look very good - although we brought food from the nearby Fred Meyer store. Whereas the room is a basic room, the bed is exceptionally comfortable and very inviting. For the price offered, the room was better than expected. As we will be coming up and visiting in Bellingham frequently and will definately choose this location as it is very convienient to either the actual town of Bellingham to the west, or Lake Whatcom to the East, or even the Canadian border a close 20ish miles away, all while being RIGHT off the freeway!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Director of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Shelley J-

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed it and we are glad we kept you comfortable during your unexpected stop.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Make it a Great Day!

Mr. Dana Weber
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission BC Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hotel is outstanding, we have stayed here four to five times in the last year. I can always count on an excellent helpful staff, a clean comfortable room and good security. Being a senior and a little forgetful at times, I realized very late in the evening that my bag with my passport was missing. A very thorough search was made by the staff and within 20 minutes it was found and returned to my room, with smiles.
Thank you Best Western, We will return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Director of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Silverdale_13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us! We are so glad you have enjoyed your stays with us and we will see you again next time!

Glad we were able to find your passport!

Make it a Great Day!

Mr. Dana Weber
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Room: The room was great! It was spacious, clean, and the beds were comfy. The bathroom was much bigger than the average economy room. Our room overlooked the pool and as a family, this was a plus! I could see the kids swimming right from my room. The standard room also comes with a large mini fridge and a small microwave, in addition to a coffee maker.

Pool: Ok, this pool is cool! It's in an indoor courtyard. It was a baby pool section and a hot tub! Indoor pools are a must in the northwest!

Location: We aren't that familiar with Bellingham but it was just down the street from the Civic Center Stadium where our event was, and there is a Fred Meyer conveniently located just across the parking lot! The hotel also has an in-house coffee stand and restaurants.

Negatives: This is not really the fault of the hotel, but people were in the hallways having loud conversations and shouting at least till midnight. Also, when the neighboring room would use their shower, we could hear everything.

Overall, this is one of the best hotels we've stayed in and it was very reasonable. When we go back to Bellingham, we'll stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Director of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
KatMommy-

Thank you for such a detailed review about your recent stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed it! Sorry about the noise and I will make sure I double up our efforts with our security team to stop this noise from happening in the first place.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Make it a Great Day!

Mr. Dana Weber
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice now. Traveling with a pet can be difficult at times and expensive but this best western accommodated us nicely. The "dog rooms" are as nice as any other room and the additional fee is only $20. The staff is friendly and very helpful. When we have requested something it was delivered promptly to our room. Good place to stay for the value, we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor that open to the pool area can be loud with late night swimmers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana W, Director of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Mark B B-

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed it! I am also glad the pooch enjoyed the stay too :)!

Make it a Great Day!

Mr. Dana Weber
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Address: 714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lakeway Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Lakeway Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.