We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Business Travel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Business Travel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I had one morning's business in Bellingham, and I was scheduled to meet the others at this hotel, so I figured I might as well stay there. It was a good choice. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable and everything worked -- even the in-room wifi. There was the bed, a desk and chair, and a chair with an ottoman. There was a pool in the center of the hotel with a hot tub and sauna, if you're into that kind of thing.

The hotel is tucked behind a huge Fred Meyer store just off the highway, which makes it tricky to find the entrance. But for the business traveler, having a full-service grocery-and-more store so close was handy. The view from my room, though, was of the back of the Fred Meyer.

I ate in the the hotel bar, Poppe's, out of sheer laziness after driving all day. Decor and atmosphere are lacking and the menu is limited, but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. My salmon pasta dish was excellent, with plenty of local fish and veggies and no heavy cream sauce.

Room Tip: Just ask! The staff is very friendly and will help in any way they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for making us your choice while in Bellingham, we appreciate your business and hope to continue serving you into the future.
Your kind words about your stay make a big difference to our team here, thank you for taking time out of your day to comment.

Regards

David Norbut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    127
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
107
86
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Russellville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We went to this Best Western with some qualms, as we don't think it's a dependable chain. However, this hotel was beautiful! The lobby was spacious and elegant, and our room was very nice. The restaurant/lounge was within the building, and it's great not to have to leave the hotel when you've been traveling all day. We enjoyed our dinner and our breakfast the next morning in the grill, tho' neither was included in the room price. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for visiting us and thank you for the nice review, we all hope to see you again in Bellingham soon!
By the way we are planning to renovate our lounge, so when you visit next year we will have some new things to show you!

Regards

David Norbut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I did not expect a Best Western to be quite this pleasant. My husband had stayed here before on business and I believe we Pricelined this time. We had our grandaughter with us and the room was quite comfortable, linens nice for a hotel in this category, and the pool was just great for us. Had breakfast in the restaurant and it was really good. We go to Bellingham to see our grandaughter often and I'm about to book in this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for staying with us, we do hope to see you again soon. Let us know what we can do to make your stay pleasant again!
Regards
David Norbut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 2 night> One of the major reasons is I had a 7am flight. They advertise a shuttle to ALL transportation sites. The hotel does not start until after 7am. The taxi cost is $25. Rooms ok but I was really upset about there being no shuttle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review and thank you again for staying with us. I do hope we were able to pay for that Taxi. Please let us know how we can assist with your next visit to Bellingham Washington.
David Norbut General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Went to visit our daughter in college and waited too long to make a reservation, I guess. The affordable hotels were all booked and so we stayed at the Best Western (which I thought was an affordable chain?) for $200 a night. Wow! This isn't even Seattle! And there wasn't even a continental breakfast?
Beds were comfortable and room had adequate space, coffee maker, and refrigerator.
Already made my reservations for the Days Inn for November for only $69 a night, with breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for staying with us, we do hope you visit with us again. Reservations made in advance as you have already noted usual have a good discount. Very similar to an airline reservation. I am happy for you that you found a hotel that can cater to your needs in Bellingham. Hope you have fun here on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olalla, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Kids loved the pool and the room was nice. My coffee pot in the room did not work and the toilet ran non-stop.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thanks for your kind words; we look forward to seeing you again. Please let us know while you are here if you have any problems, both of the items that you mentioned in your review can be repaired in about 30 minuets. We have new coffee makers on hand if one goes bad, and a float for the reservoir is on the shelf also for replacement. Just give us a call when here so that we can assist.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

First, the hotel was clean and price was ok.
BUT--the smell of chlorine in the hotel is overpowering. It almost knocked me out. The pool is located in the center of the hotel and is nice to have, but the smell is so strong that it almost made me sick. I don't know how this issue can be resolved, but WOW!

Second--no continental breakfast or anything provided, but a little restaurant downstairs is nice and there is free coffee in the AM provided.

Overall, an ok stay, but the hotel staff should really figure out a way to curb the chlorine smell with more ventilation or something.

They do have a fitness room that is tucked away near the pool that I discovered a little too late, but it's there.

Room Tip: Rooms are ok...typical, nothing fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Address: 714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lakeway Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Lakeway Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.