We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Olympia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pricey, but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Went to visit our daughter in college and waited too long to make a reservation, I guess. The affordable hotels were all booked and so we stayed at the Best Western (which I thought was an affordable chain?) for $200 a night. Wow! This isn't even Seattle! And there wasn't even a continental breakfast?
Beds were comfortable and room had adequate space, coffee maker, and refrigerator.
Already made my reservations for the Days Inn for November for only $69 a night, with breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for staying with us, we do hope you visit with us again. Reservations made in advance as you have already noted usual have a good discount. Very similar to an airline reservation. I am happy for you that you found a hotel that can cater to your needs in Bellingham. Hope you have fun here on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    106
    46
    16
    6
See reviews for
88
71
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olalla, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Kids loved the pool and the room was nice. My coffee pot in the room did not work and the toilet ran non-stop.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thanks for your kind words; we look forward to seeing you again. Please let us know while you are here if you have any problems, both of the items that you mentioned in your review can be repaired in about 30 minuets. We have new coffee makers on hand if one goes bad, and a float for the reservoir is on the shelf also for replacement. Just give us a call when here so that we can assist.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

First, the hotel was clean and price was ok.
BUT--the smell of chlorine in the hotel is overpowering. It almost knocked me out. The pool is located in the center of the hotel and is nice to have, but the smell is so strong that it almost made me sick. I don't know how this issue can be resolved, but WOW!

Second--no continental breakfast or anything provided, but a little restaurant downstairs is nice and there is free coffee in the AM provided.

Overall, an ok stay, but the hotel staff should really figure out a way to curb the chlorine smell with more ventilation or something.

They do have a fitness room that is tucked away near the pool that I discovered a little too late, but it's there.

Room Tip: Rooms are ok...typical, nothing fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Everything was very good. Recommend stay at this location. I did book on priceline.com "name your price" so the value was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the North West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for just one night to pick up friends the next day from the ferry. The staff was very friendly and the room was very comfortable. We splurged and had a room next to the indoor pool. The food at the local restaurant was very good and affordable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for staying with us, we enjoy many guests who frequent our hotel that are here in Bellingham to enjoy all we have to offer. Certainly the Port of Bellingham with the Ferry as well as the Airport have been a blessing for all here in Whatcom County. Thank you for enjoying Bellingham, and staying with us! We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My 12 year old son and I stayed here on our way up to Whistler BC. The reason I stayed here again was because you get such a nice place for a good price, it's close to I-5 but not noisy from the freeway traffic, and the food in the bar is great! Try the spicy calimari! Yes, the pool in the middle of the hotel is strange, but my son loved it and there were very few people in the pool the Saturday night we were there.

The room was quiet and clean and the beds are AWESOME! A great stopping-off point when traveling on I-5 or getting ready to go to the San Juans. It is a bit hard to find the first time, though, it's behind the Fred Meyer and the sign is easy to miss!

Room Tip: I called ahead to make sure we had two beds. No problem. Upper floors and certain rooms are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivdN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for staying with us AGAIN! We do get alot of compliments about our beds, and the food. By the way the Chef is creating a new menu that will be out by the end of July. Just one more reason to vist us again before the end of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenchen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Hotel welcome was very friendly. My husband and I came by Bellair Charterbus from Seattle and this Hotel is just next door to the stop, so its very easy to get here. Stayed for the night to go to the Alaska Ferry next morning. Hotel is clean, Restaurant and food very good. They give you a shuttle down to the ferry port.
We were disapinted because we made our reservation month ago and got a very noisy room. You could hear every word from the adjacent room where they put a family in.
Next to our window goes the interstate 5 !!! And at 10:30pm the crew smashed the classbottels in the container.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn

Address: 714 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lakeway Hotel Bellingham
Best Western Lakeway Hotel
Best Western Bellingham
Bellingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.