We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Creek Lodge
5602 Mission Road, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent two nights at the lodge. Our party of four included my 89-year-old mother. It was a perfect setting for her, and us, to spend time in between the hectic activities of a high school graduation and celebratory luau. The two days of rain were very tolerable for Mom and her sister who made use of the lounge for playing cards, reading and watching birds in the surrounding gardens. Sandra went out of her way to make us all, and particularly Mom, comfortable. Coffee and other beverages were available throughout the day and she provided two separate breakfasts to meet our needs. The meals were very good, particularly the egg cheese souffle. We would definitely recommend the lodge whether for a quiet weekend or as a convenient staging point a weekend full of activities.

Room Tip: The downstairs room (in the back...can't remember the name) was very convenient for a person wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enumclaw
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We found Anderson Creek Lodge to be a lovely, peaceful place with many small, thoughtful touches. Tea, candies, soda, and bottled water were available 24/7. There was an immense bookcase of movies and books to enjoy in the cozy great room. Mary was very attentive and served us warm brownies with whipped cream in the afternoon. We were delighted by our pastoral walk to Anderson Creek and around the 65-acre property, which is pastureland surrounded by woods. Breakfast was everything we could ask for-- blueberry coffeecake, fruit, juice, coffee/tea, and eggs with ham, cheese, sweet potatoes, asparagus, and spinach. Delicious! It is located about 15 minutes from town, so if you are looking for a rural retreat, this is it. If you are wanting an urban adventure, you might prefer something closer in. We would love to come back in the winter and snuggle up in the sunken living room in front of the fire. This is a lovely place for a romantic weekend, a small wedding, or a small retreat.

Room Tip: Try them all! We were in the Cascade Room. It was roomy and had a fireplace. We saw the San Juan sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andersoncreek, Manager at Anderson Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for your kind words! You were wonderful guests! We had a great group of guests while you were here. It was fun hearing the hum of your lively breakfast conversation and laughter while I was cooking.
Mary Knight, Interim Innkeeper for Sandra Gee Brooks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed just one night coming back through Bellingham and not wanting a motel. The location is nice, quiet, rural. Kind of far to go to dinner in Bellingham so eating choices pretty limited. We had a large room, decor nothing to write home about, and lots of windows but the drapes were a bunch of old bed sheets, maybe ok in your 1st apartment but not acceptable when desiring a nice room. Breakfast quite simply, simple. An individual fruit salad with a bit of yogurt and a cheese omelet, period, no bread, toast, muffins. Service was very nice and helpful. Overall acceptable place but kind of overrated from earlier reviewers I think.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andersoncreek, Manager at Anderson Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear BC,

First, I want to say thanks for coming to stay with us and thanks for giving us your feedback.

We are so sorry you did not have the type of overall experience we want you to have at Anderson Creek Lodge when you stayed here in April.

We are glad you appreciated our large guest rooms. That is something that sets us apart from many bed and breakfast inns.

Sandra Gee Brooks became the new innkeeper as of May 1st. She follows in the footsteps of an enthusiastic young couple named Kevin and Jen. Our intent is to provide the same friendly service you recieved from Kevin and Jen. From your comments it appears that you stayed in our San Juan suite. Sandra and I agree with you that the decor in the room wan't right.. We have new curtains in that room and even a different color scheme.

We are now serving a two course breakfast. Each day we serve a variety of items. Our breakfasts are hearty. Sandra is an exceptional cook. I am the interim innkeeper this week while she is on vacation and I have been using her recipes. The guests have seemed quite pleased with the dishes I've prepared from her recipes. (My husband and I came here as guests when Kevin and Jen were here and we actually really enjoyed the breakfast they served.)

As you mentioned, we have a great location. Rural and extremely quiet. Although it feels like we are way out in the country, we are only 15 minutes from the Bellis Fair, the only mall in Bellingham.

You said that it was a long drive to the restaurant you chose. We apologize if you were not told that Herb Niemann's Steak and Schnitzel House is just a twelve minute scenic country drive away. People come from miles around to this great restaurant for wonderful steaks, seafood, and Bavarian specialties.

We hope you will decide to come to see us again. If you do, let us know what you'd like for breakfast and that's what we'll serve you.

Sincerely,

Mary Knight, Interim Innkeeper for Sandra Gee Brooks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed one night at this lodge and it was a perfect, peaceful place. The hosts are wonderful and welcoming, the hot tub lovely, the room great, breakfast delicious, the grounds beautiful. My room was big and cozy at the same time, there were chocolates waiting on the pillows. The common area calls out to be utilized, with couches and armchairs arranged to offer a quiet, private spots for reading or journalling or relaxing, there's a serve-yourself area for tea, a crackling fire in the fireplace. Walking around the property was lovely, even in the middle of February. I can't say enough nice things about this place. I would love to stay longer next time, and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here last weekend- regretted it wasn't longer. The setting was lovely, with nature walking trails. It's about 25 minutes to the waterfront, and it's an easy drive. The room and lodge were spotless, breakfast was great. There was soda, bottled water, sparkling water, and assortment of teas available any time. loved it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

WOW, what a great place for a get-away. We spent the evening here with another couple. The lodge is beautiful as well is the grounds. Our host, Kevin welcomed us and made us feel "right at home". After showing us to our rooms, he built a fire in the large rock fireplace and left us to enjoy our time there. In the morning we were greeted in the dining area for a delious breakfast made by Kevin's wife, Jennifer. Everything was made from scratch, and I so wanted to lick the plate :) Definately would recommend Anderson Creek Lodge for anyone who is looking for a quiet retreat. It is located east of Bellingham and would be a great place to stay while skiing at Mt. Baker.

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms have a fireplace in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We booked the Cascades Room on the main floor. It was fairly big room with a private bathroom, small screen TV and a working wood burning fireplace. There is no view from this room it was very comfortable. Our friend booked a room on the second floor, it was nice as well with a limited view of the forest but no fireplace. She was comfortable in the room.

There are many acres of property to explore and lots of photo opportunities in the area. On the property there are a number of quite friendly llamas and a large flock of chickens (no roosters that I heard) which soon will be laying eggs.

The hosts Kevin and Jen are just delightful. They have only been working at the Lodge since January but you can see they are enjoying every moment here. They are in love with the area with the natural setting and their beloved mountains all around.

Jen is a very good cook and Kevin is the "sous chef". The cheese souffle was just delicious. Jen also baked fresh muffins and scones each day. They are aware of special dietary needs of some guests and were most accommodating.

There was a small fridge in the dining area stocked with bottled water, soft drinks, and chocolate milk for guests to enjoy at anytime. There was also an extensive Tea Box to chose from.

We were welcomed by Kevin and he saw to our every need. My husband has some mobility problems so our room on the main floor made it easy for him to get around.

The photos of the lodge on their web site show the lodge as it really is. A large great room with a sweeping staircase to the second floor. This would be a great place to have a wedding reception.

We drove the Mt Baker Scenic Hwy and stopped at the Nooksack Falls along the way - Both spectacular sights. We were only able to get to Heather Meadows as there was still 35 plus feet of snow at the higher parking lot and it was not plowed. We also drove Hwy 9 to a small community of Acme for lunch at the Acme Cafe - great food and a fun place. We had dinner in Emmerson at a Steak & Schnitzel house - huge portions of good food. All places within an easy drive of the Lodge.

Summary, The Anderson Creek Lodge Bed & Breakfast was a nice welcoming place to spend a relaxing weekend and for us not too far to travel from our home in BC. We plan to return in the Fall or Winter when it is sunny, cold and lots of frost.

Room Tip: If you like a fireplace chose the Cascade Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anderson Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Creek Lodge

Address: 5602 Mission Road, Bellingham, WA 98226
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anderson Creek Lodge Bed and Breakfast and Meeting Center offers you a wonderfully relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Our traditional Northwest lodge features a huge, two-story stone fireplace. Every comfortable lodge-style room has a private bathroom. Our 35-acre site has trails that take you past forests and fields, alongside Anderson creek and also let you visit our 18 friendly and curious llamas. You'll also enjoy the delicious full breakfasts, jetted hot tub, and many more features. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anderson Creek Lodge to your Saves list