We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Anderson Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Anderson Creek Lodge
5602 Mission Road, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Maple Ridge BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We booked the Cascades Room on the main floor. It was fairly big room with a private bathroom, small screen TV and a working wood burning fireplace. There is no view from this room it was very comfortable. Our friend booked a room on the second floor, it was nice as well with a limited view of the forest but no fireplace. She was comfortable in the room.

There are many acres of property to explore and lots of photo opportunities in the area. On the property there are a number of quite friendly llamas and a large flock of chickens (no roosters that I heard) which soon will be laying eggs.

The hosts Kevin and Jen are just delightful. They have only been working at the Lodge since January but you can see they are enjoying every moment here. They are in love with the area with the natural setting and their beloved mountains all around.

Jen is a very good cook and Kevin is the "sous chef". The cheese souffle was just delicious. Jen also baked fresh muffins and scones each day. They are aware of special dietary needs of some guests and were most accommodating.

There was a small fridge in the dining area stocked with bottled water, soft drinks, and chocolate milk for guests to enjoy at anytime. There was also an extensive Tea Box to chose from.

We were welcomed by Kevin and he saw to our every need. My husband has some mobility problems so our room on the main floor made it easy for him to get around.

The photos of the lodge on their web site show the lodge as it really is. A large great room with a sweeping staircase to the second floor. This would be a great place to have a wedding reception.

We drove the Mt Baker Scenic Hwy and stopped at the Nooksack Falls along the way - Both spectacular sights. We were only able to get to Heather Meadows as there was still 35 plus feet of snow at the higher parking lot and it was not plowed. We also drove Hwy 9 to a small community of Acme for lunch at the Acme Cafe - great food and a fun place. We had dinner in Emmerson at a Steak & Schnitzel house - huge portions of good food. All places within an easy drive of the Lodge.

Summary, The Anderson Creek Lodge Bed & Breakfast was a nice welcoming place to spend a relaxing weekend and for us not too far to travel from our home in BC. We plan to return in the Fall or Winter when it is sunny, cold and lots of frost.

Room Tip: If you like a fireplace chose the Cascade Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Kevin & Jen are awesome hosts! This is a nice out-of-the-way retreat at a comparable price to any hotel in Bellingham. They're only a short 10 minute drive out of town . We were staying only for a night to end our BC vacation on our way back down to Vancouver, WA. They were more than accomodating in meeting our needs with 3 children (ages 9,10, & 12) with extra mattresses/bedding and the like. Not many B&Bs are kid-friendly, but this one is the best!

They've done a lot of work to build the place up in the last year to make it very relaxing and enjoyable. Our kids loved the llamas and chickens, and it had a small farm feel to the property, but you had all the amenities you could ask for at the lodge.

The meal was more than we could handle, as far as portions go, so if you want a "lite" version, don't hesisitate to ask if they forget to mention it. We had a fresh fruit bowl, hash browns, nice thick bacon, and two platter-sized pancakes with carmelized apples! YUM! Even the coffee was very good!

We didn't try out the hot tub, but it was there if we wanted to, and other guests who had used it said they enjoyed it. There are plenty of books/movies to choose from in their relaxing den.

Don't let the out-of-town location put you off from reserving here. It'll be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The rooms were comfortable and large, clean and well-appointed. We had the Whatcom extended, which was a perfect accommodation for us and our two toddler boys. The grounds were lovely, and there were great views out the windows and off the deck. Breakfast was amazing-we stayed for five days and had a different delicious menu each morning. My youngest son is allergic to wheat and dairy, but was still able to enjoy a delicious breakfast with us every morning due to our hosts' skill in the kitchen. Kevin and Jen had a knack for thinking of everything, from chocolates on the pillows to ginger cookies and s'mores in the evenings. They were very helpful with information and recommendations for things-to-do, places-to-eat, etc. The lodge was immaculately clean. It was truly as comfortable as being at home, but unlike being at home, we had an awesome gourmet breakfast every morning, chocolates on our pillows, and a roaring fireplace with s'mores at night!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This is a beautiful place! The Lodge is homey and tastefully decorated. The rooms are comfortable and very pleasant to just relax in. The scenery is amazing. It is so refreshing to go for a walk in the forest and listen to the birds sing. The Llamas are great fun to watch! There is a hot tub with a view of the beautiful scenery. My most favorite thing was the sunken area in the big room that has a fireplace, it calls your name to come and sit with some hot chocolate and good book. The managers are extremely helpful and gracious! I CANNOT SAY ENOUGH GOOD THINGS ABOUT THIS LODGE!! It was so nice to get off the freeways and busy streets and stay in the forest!

Room Tip: I loved my room - Mt Baker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Excellence Northwest has a series of Training Workshops for personal and professional effectiveness, and Anderson Creek Lodge is one of our very favorite locations to hold our second workshop in the series, called BreakThru. We look for a serene location, in the midst of natural beauty, quiet, comfortable, and roomy enough for our meetings and breakout sessions. Kevin and Jen are fabulous hosts, and although we didn't stay overnight, we saw the gorgeous breakfasts they served their guests. Wow! (Jen even provided our team a little taste of her breakfast Berry Shortcake just to tempt us!) We couldn't have imagined a better atmosphere for the transformational work our participants experience...fire crackling in the fireplace, creature comforts all around, and walking trails to discover all kinds of natural treasures. We can't wait to return with our next workshop. (And personally, I want to return with my husband to enjoy the outdoor hot tub and the large suite on the second floor!)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed Anderson Creek Lodge for our 10th anniversary! We wanted to get away from the city and this provided it! Renee took great care of us and made a lovely breakfast, then we got to take pictures of the llamas and goats and heard frogs in the nearby wooded area! It was approx. an hour's drive up to the scenic ski/view area of Mt. Baker and just 15 minutes from downtown Bellingham. The lodge is beautiful and very peaceful. Definitely would recommend to anyone- couples and families would love it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed here for two nights after driving through North Cascades National Park, intending to hike at Mt. Baker the next day. It was a little hard to find, kind of on the outskirts of town, but very nice and reasonably priced. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom quite roomy. The room had a VCR/DVD player, and a wide selection of videos was available. Breakfasts were good, and tea, coffee, and granola bars were available any time. There was a hot tub, but we didn't have a chance to use it. The llamas in the field next to the lodge provide some fun photo ops. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anderson Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Creek Lodge

Address: 5602 Mission Road, Bellingham, WA 98226
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anderson Creek Lodge Bed and Breakfast and Meeting Center offers you a wonderfully relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Our traditional Northwest lodge features a huge, two-story stone fireplace. Every comfortable lodge-style room has a private bathroom. Our 35-acre site has trails that take you past forests and fields, alongside Anderson creek and also let you visit our 18 friendly and curious llamas. You'll also enjoy the delicious full breakfasts, jetted hot tub, and many more features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Anderson Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.