We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 4th Outstanding Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bay City Motor Inn to your Saves list
Bay City Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   116 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Jensen Beach, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My 4th Outstanding Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I just returned from my 4th extended stay at the Bay City Motor Inn. And my experiences there seem to get better and better each year. My room was clean and in good shape as always. The staff was even friendlier and more helpful than ever. I feel like it is my
second home. The motel is family owned and operated. And the owner and his family make me feel like one of the family. My only regret is that I could not stay longer. Maybe next year!
In these tough economic times, we are all looking for the best value for our money. I can't imagine that there is any better lodging value in Bellingham than the Bay City..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillinJensenBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wash.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

I work construction in the area from time to time, I was first introduced to Bay City Motor Inn about three years ago. Rooms are spacious,very homey for(for a motel,very nice), access to serveral places to dine,(fast food and resturants, gas stations, grocery store down the street.) Pay by day, week, or month,very clean, all nessecery channels of television you would want,if your stay is short or long. As for myself, if I land a job 30-40 miles away from this motel, this is the place I'd choose to stay, you can't go wrong !!!

  • Liked — Service,Price,Access
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjgoforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

This was a great motel. The rooms were clean, it's quiet, and the service was great. The owner was very kind and so were all the employees. I had a three day stay and the rooms were for a vairly good price. There is a Haggens only a five minute walk away and lots of restraunts nearby. Overall, i had a great stay and if I ever need a place to stay, I'd definitely come back to Bay City Motor Inn.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puget sound, washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

My mother and I were traveling to Whistler and used Bellingham for a 1-night stopover. Every other place we'd stopped at was sold-out, even the Motel 6 (an ominous sign unto itself). I paid $119 for a king bed/jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi didn't work, a bedside lamp was nonfunctional, the in-room fridge didn't work, ditto the air conditioning. We hardly slept at all that night and checked out super early. Perhaps that's because we got somebody else's wake-up call by mistake at 4:45 am!!! I was never so glad to get out of a place in all my life, this includes basic training when I served in the military!
I told the front desk guy about all the room issues when we checked out. His reply? "Well, that's not my problem!" I took this up with my credit card company and they went to bat for me. The owner was obstinate, making excuses for the room's problems, i.e., we didn't plug the lamp or fridge in....Hello?!?! Who would work against their own best interest in such a way? Ridiculous! The credit card company gave us the refund out of their pocket. Never thought I'd see the day when I'd cheer corporate over the small-business owner, but there you have it...

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bellingham hotels

Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

I had a confirmed room reservation at this hotel for the RSVP (popular bike ride from Seattle to Vancouver in Aug 2009). I think the owner realized his hotel was on the bike route and decided to gouge his patrons. I received a phone call notifying me that the room rate was being raised from $75 to $175 for that date only. I'm not sure how the hotel can do this but I think it's very unethical.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank LAH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

A relative used Trip Advisor to check out the reviews (as usual) for me as I was on the road, and we picked this one based on the reviews, star rating, and price, so I didn't book ahead online. When I got here, I was pleased to find out that the price for the room was much less than quoted on the TA website. The price was so low, in fact, that I checked the room out before committing to it, and it was just fine. I would say that the 3 1/2 star TA rating is accurate, and the front desk staff was very friendly and accomodating.
This is a good place to stay at a very good price, kind of like Super 8 used to be.

  • Liked — value; lots of restaurants within walking distance (1-2 blocks); easy access to I-5
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank golfsierra47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

I got a room in the basement for a month and I liked the room. I had one queen size bed. The TV was huge and I liked that. I had a microwave and a mini fridge.

The bathroom had new tiles and was clean. The room had decent towels. The maids vacumed, made beds, and gave me the towels back usually they came around 2-4ish. I liked the air conditioning during the summer. They have free internet in my room which worked good.

The noise level is always monitored by the owners and the front desk people. If anything annoyed me I just make one call and a few minutes later it would be good. The people who stayed there were pretty nice to. There have been people that have been staying there for years.

The breakfast is coffee which is almost always available, muffins usually three different types bought from Costco I think. They have apple juice and orange juice. I like the apple juice.. the orange juice tastes funny.

Right across from the inn is arbys and popeyes and so much more little places to eat around there. They have a cool athletic store next door. They have back parking lot and front parking lot.
So either way if you like it private you can park the car in the back .

  • Liked — Wireless Internet
  • Disliked — orange juice
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bllonde_beauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 27 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#20 of 27 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 27 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#14 of 27 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay City Motor Inn

Address: 116 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay City Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bay City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay City Motor Hotel Bellingham
Bay City Hotel
Bay City Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing