We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bay City Motor Inn to your Saves list
Bay City Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   116 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Bellingham
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good, but Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Availability and good prices brought us to this hotel for a one-night stay. We had made a reservation in advance, and when we arrived a little early, the room was already ready for us.

The hotel could benefit from some updates, but it was comfortable for one night, and what I would expect from a similar hotel. The room had two beds, a TV, a small table with 2 chairs, a telephone, bathroom, and mini fridge. It was kept clean, though the toilet seat could probably afford to be replaced, and there were a few stains/holes on the sheets. My main complaint was that the door to the room was not a tight fit, which allowed a considerable amount of hallway light to seep into the room.

This hotel serves a free continental breakfast from 7-10 AM in the lobby. On the menu were danishes, bagels, toast, cereal, fruit, doughnuts, and coffee, juice, or milk. The staff was friendly and kept the breakfast station well-stocked.

If you need a place to stay at for a few days in Bellingham, Bay City Motor Inn is not a bad choice, it's just not above what one would expect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
23
10
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I agree with the other reviews that the staff here were great! I initially booked for one night and extended another night twice while I was waiting for a package to arrive. They were happy to keep me in the same room and matched the price that I had found online. The hotel was nothing special and a little outdated but clean and I felt comfortable there. There was a fridge in the room for me to keep the stuff out of my cooler.

I never went down for breakfast so I can't comment on that and the lobby itself is nothing to speak of. Location was good. Pretty close to a couple of shops and a large grocer.

The only thing that was a bit odd was that there seemed to be a lot of underprivileged people around and the reviews for the hotel next door mentioned that it may be used as a housing unit for people on assistance. This is possible but I never had any problems. Everyone I encountered was nice and I stayed for 3 nights without an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have stayed here twice now, as my son is attending Western Washington University. Super easy access to campus! We could almost walk to his dorm from here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Also very honest, which is important these days! After checking out, while cleaning our room, they found a wallet under the bed and immediately called us. ID, Credit Card and Money were all in there. That is a HUGE plus in my book. It did not actually belong to any of us, but I was glad to see they were making an effort to find the owner.
I will definitely stay there again!
Thanks Bay City Motor Inn!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I'd say the best thing about this place was the Front Desk People... they were very nice....
We showed up on the weekend when all the University Kids are heading back to University so ALL the hotels, but the Bay City Motor Inn were booked full with Parents. We had a room in the basement, very old - needs an update, wi fi didnt work, the bed was ROCK hard, and I think I could hear the person peeing upstairs! Lots of weird sounds. I will ensure that I always reserve a hotel before coming to Bellingham again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The bedding was dirty. The sheets and pillow cases looked like have not been changed. Very poor complementary breakfast if you want, and you have to sit by the coffee table to eat. I will never stay this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Needed a place to stay after day hiking at Mt. Baker. This place showed up on TA and the reviews were positive. The wife and I found the room clean, AC worked great, the shower had exceptional pressure, and the jacuzzi was nice for the sore muscles. The king bed was adequate, ( we have a superior one at home) and I would stay there again. BTW the continental breakfast was spare, did not bother as there are lots of great places to breakfast in Bellingham...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Our king size bed was firm, the bathroom spotless, and the carpet had recently been vacuumed and felt soft on the feet. Room includes small table and chairs, two dressers and small fridge. Hair dryer, soap and shampoo packets in the bathroom area. They fixed the security problem and close the end of hall doors at 10 pm for the night. People must go through lobby. Overall nice clean room and we would stay here again! Oh, and they provide a sparse continental breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay City Motor Inn

Address: 116 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay City Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay City Motor Hotel Bellingham
Bay City Hotel
Bay City Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.