We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 overnite stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay City Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bay City Motor Inn to your Saves list
Bay City Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   116 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1 overnite stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

They advertise AAA and Senior discount but when asked for it they "claim" the rate was "prediscounted". Asked for a cash discount, non offered. Should have "voted" with my foot by going elsewhere but I like to support sole proprietorships over chains because they have "management" flexibility. This family run business was inflexible and I now understand when a previous poster asked if he could leave his bags for the day, that they would not allow him unless he paid for a room. I'd look elsewhere just based on their mgmt. Family run managers like this really don't deserve the business unless you are in a pinch for a room. I'd go with a chain. The business is showing its age, stay was quiet and reasonably comfortable otherwise.

Room Tip: I'd ask for room towards the back to get away from the cooking odors from the resident manager c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
10
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed this past weekend with my husband and two children. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom was beautiful with the ceramic tile. The room was clean and smelled good. The furniture looks like it has been replaced recently. We got a good night sleep and the kids loved the continental breakfast. I really appreciated that the muffins were pre-cut this made it so my kids did not waste a whole one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family and I were very pleased with the Bay City Motor Inn. The front desk was very helpful with resturant recomendations and other activities to do. The Motel was very clean, quiet and ooh the beds were wonderful!! Thanks Bay City for your friendly hospitality.

The Andersons of Salem Oregon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Yah I'm with Bruce on this one. The beds were horrible and we all ended up not sleeping and unable to walk the next day. The kids even complained how bad the beds were. The sheets didn't fit the bed and kept coming off so we were sleeping on the bare mattress...gross! In the morning our continential breakfast didnt exist but a couple pieces of fruit and a couple muffins. They couldnt even splurge for real creamer for the coffee so at 7am I packed the kids up and drove to a restaurant. Not my idea of fun when its cold and slippery. Next time I'm staying up by the airport and not worrying about being close to the university.

Room Tip: stay up by meridian or airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

bay city motor in is a great place to stay. They have comfortable rooms and very great service. the people get there within five minutes of me calling. they are kind and clean people i have enjoyed my stay to this present day. there is lots of places to eat within walking distance of the motel. theres not a lot of traffic in and out of the motel wich is good if you like quiet. there is no drug activity in the motel. the staff is kind and generous. i plan to make the next for months of my stay the most of it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and clean. The rooms are spacious and quiet and the bed was comfortable. Very easy access to WWU. They owners were particularly aupportive and helpful when my daughter needed a safe place to stay suddenly for a week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Do not believe any good reviews of this motel- it's totally disgusting! My worst nightmare-bed bugs! When I called the front desk to tell them what I had found they said the owner would be there in 5 minutes. I waited for about 30 minutes then told the front desk agent that I had to leave. He took my cell number and said the owner would call me. But did that ever happen? Of course not. He didn't even bother to call me and apologize and refund my money. It's the worst motel ever with horrible customer service. Do not stay here. There are many motels/hotels in Bellingham that are so much better.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay City Motor Inn

Address: 116 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay City Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay City Motor Hotel Bellingham
Bay City Hotel
Bay City Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.