We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Again - An Outstanding Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bay City Motor Inn to your Saves list
Bay City Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   116 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Jensen Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Once Again - An Outstanding Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I recently returned from my 7th annual extended stay at the Bay City Motor Inn. As always, it was a most pleasant experience.. The owner - Lucky - and his family and the other staff always make me feel right at home. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well-maintained. It is an excellent value and very conveniently located.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
10
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We went there because other inns were full and they still had lots of rooms availible. They gave us a room (US$ 95) in basement level. The smell in the room was terribly stuffy. We turned on the air conditioning and we couldn't handle the noise from it. The beddings were so smelly. We didn't have a good sleep that night. We didn't change to other rooms because it's the cheapest that night. What they provided for breakfast were Costco muffins, bananas, apples, coffee, milk. We've stayed in other inns just cross the street, so we were very disappointed with Bay City. I hope they take some advice and do some adjustments about their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've stayed here a few times as a place to crash while in Bellingham for the weekend to shop. The rooms are big. The place is old and musty but the rates are great.

It's the rate that keeps me coming back. Everything else seems tolerable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay In Bellingham at bay city. Very nice,people were great and we felt safe. It is well worth it to stay there. We have a place of our own in Alaska and safety and clean is always our main concern. Good price also. WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

When we checked in we were greeted by friendly staff at the front desk. Our room was clean and neat. Dated and a bit worn but clearly well cared for. There was an issue with the TV, it was not working correctly. As soon as I let the front desk know they went to work getting it fixed. It was great.service and they got it working in no time at all.

This is a great location for people visiting WWU like we were. Just blocks to public transit to the campus.

We found this motel to be a great value and reasonable in all areas. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

When you are in bellingham you should never think of a place other than bay city motor inn. Its awesome, cheap and has good facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I came here and paid for a week, since it clearly states they have internet. Now for $360.00 for a basic room with free internet, how could you go wrong? But to my discovery, there wasn't a connection, so i complained to the front desk. several days later, still nothing resolved. One excuse after another with no one fixing the issues. So i lost my job in the process. because their router went out and they refuse to fix it. It isn't my responsibility to look for a different place to connect to the internet, if i've already paid 360.00 for a place to stay plus free internet. Plus the plugs for electricty didn't work, no free breakfast. they didn't even have a no disturb sign for my door. so they were coming each day knocking on my door asking me if i needed anything and each day i said "yeah i need the internet!" My advice? pay $10.00 more and get everything you need and want next door. I've rented from all of these hotels over the past 3 years, and its not with the heart ache. you'd get more satisfaction staying in a vehicle over night.

Room Tip: Don't rent here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay City Motor Inn

Address: 116 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay City Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Bay City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay City Motor Hotel Bellingham
Bay City Hotel
Bay City Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.