We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant

Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant
21 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 714-8412
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roeder
Description: Giuseppe's Al Porto has a spectacular view of Squalicum Marina at Bellingham Bay and with Chef Christian Turner focusing on the freshest local ingredients, while utilizing classic Italian technique, our restaurant is an experience that you cannot afford to miss!! We offer Dining Al Tramonto which is our three course dinner for $14.95 Sunday thru Thursday from 4:00pm - 5:30pm. Or come join us for happy hour and our hand crafted Infusion Cocktails as well as Chef Turner's Balsamic Rosemary Glazed Ribs! With our two large outdoor dining terraces as well as our main dining area's Giuseppe's Al Porto is suited for all occasions.
Bellingham, WA
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice setting, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This restaurant is located in the harbor area in Bellingham. The food is very good. I always try not to have anything with a red sauce because I think all red sauce foods taste only like the red sauce. Anyway, if you venture away from the usual stuff I think you will be satisfied with the food. They also have an Italian Margarita which is delicious!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aldergrove, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A bit of Tuscany by the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I shall limited my review to the afternoon menu, as it was a beautiful sunny afternoon and the patio was beckoning. The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere. The combination of sun, water and marina was inviting. A polite word of welcome greeted us at the door which set the tone for attentive service for the remainder of our stay. Since it was mid-afternoon, we ordered from the "Happy Hour" menu which offered a good selection and reasonable portions (all items within $5-$7. Order two items and you have dinner!). Everyone agreed their food selection was excellent. Combine this with a reasonable drink selection (and price) between 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM, it was easy to let time slip by. All and all, a great place to dine and relax for an afternoon.

Definitely will keep Giuseppe's on the return to list.

We looked at the "Early Dining" menu but did not order. Reasonable price ($18) for 3-4 course sitting. Perhaps next time. After 6:00 PM, restaurant is fine dining and with that --- $$$--- pricing (if Happy Hour is any indication of the quality of food, I'm sure you will not be disappointed).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“One of the finest for flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We found out about G's from a brochure we picked up at the Alaska ferry terminal and so we called for a 6:00 reservation. G himself took the call and we continued our travels around Bellingham until our set time. We were in town just for the fun of it and when we arrived early to check out the menu we discovered they had a sunset special, it all looked wonderful so we changed our time to 5:30 to take advantage of the savings. We chose to sit inside because of the bright sun, funny for Washington right? And we would have done well to sit on the deck and watch the water traffic rather than the inside but it was fine. The waiter we had was Mike and he was polite, well versed in the menu and specials, always ready to be of service to us but never intrusive, we liked him. We ordered the Rose' a fine choice. We were 3/4 done with the wine when our order was taken, about 20 minutes into our drink which we wanted to do. We were given bread and oil and vinegar, a nice warm crusty bread. (we did have one mishap with the bread but G himself took charge of that and accomodated us with the offer of another glass of wine on the house) We ordered the Polla Alla Piccata, excellent to say the least, Ravioli Dell Nonna, excellent to say the least. And for dessert we chose the Chocolate Mousse, excellent again. Our salad was fresh greens, gorgonzola, balsamic, another wonderful taste treat. Without the wine the dinner for each for the sunset special was $18, now how great is that? The food was exceptional, flavors to a tee and presentation spot on. We would highly recommend G's for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great location on the marina. Great views, excellent food. Down side? Too pricey. Come on how much should pasta cost?

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummi Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

it was loud loud loud, and the service was lacking. For the price, the food was not anything special. Their original restaurant in Bellingham was much better.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.