We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nosh, but crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro

Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro
1107 Railroad Ave, Bellingham, WA 98225-5007
+1 360-647-5593
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 333 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Boundary Bay Brewery opened in 1995 & we've been making great handcrafted beer and fresh, local food for the Bellingham community ever since! Our brewery houses a Tap Room and family-friendly Bistro, located in a restored historic 1922 warehouse in Downtown Bellingham, across from the Saturday Farmer's Market. We also have a great deck for outdoor dining and a Beer Garden where you can enjoy BBQ's and outdoor concerts in the Summer.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good nosh, but crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Almost any night there will be a wait, but the food is good and the beer is great! Service can be good or bad depending on who you get for waitstaff and how busy it is. Not a quick meal place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    115
    40
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food with good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Five people in my family went to the restaurant on a Friday night. We were told the wait would be 25 minutes and 15 minutes later we had a seat. Place was packed and service was ok. Beer was good and I must say everyone looked there food. Food came very fast. Would visit them again for food and drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Northwestern Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good beer and pub food. Seats at the picnic benches leave a lot to be desired but this is a pub! Had the lamb burger, very good. Selection of beers was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Fairplay with customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited this brewery the weekend of Bellingham´s marathon. Somebody recommended it to me and we stopped by. The food was good and also the atmosphere was nice but our surprise came up the day after when we realized that we were charged a 18% tip. Usually restaurants and bars charge automatically the tip in large groups but we were only 4 people so we didn´t expect the tip to be included so we tipped twice.
What really piss me off is that the server manipulated our order and she made the system believe that we were 5 people; doing so, the machine added automatically the tip without overcharging the bill.
Fairplay, my dear. Never come back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Beer, go to Bayou for Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Been going here for a few years now and I can solidly say they have some of the best beer ive tasted. Love their new Irish stout also. But the scotch ale is always the go to.

Food is expensive and nothing special however. Their lamb burger is good and fairly inexpensive and the Pacific Northwest Pizza is tasty but overpriced.

Go here for the beer and live music. Best in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.