We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colophon Cafe

Colophon Cafe
1208 11TH St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7015
+1 360-647-0092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 396 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Dessert, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located in historic building over a hundred years old and adjacent to city park space for nearly 30 years, the Colophon Cafe is the true heart of Fairhaven. We strive for fresh and delicious food, offering five homemade soups a day, fresh salads and good old comfort food with the best French dips, pulled pork and potpies. Our bakers make all our goodies from scratch. We are undergoing a remodel and expansion in early 2014 and are excited to see you soon!
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We came for lunch after a few years' absence. We had fond memories of the food and wanted to revisit it. It was a sunny day, so we sat on the patio, which was very pleasant. The server was friendly and helpful. Vegetarian and Gluten-Free items are clearly labeled on the menu. The food was good, and tasted fresh. Lunch for two (a sandwich and a half sandwich-soup combo; no drinks) came to $25. The bookshop next door is perfect for an after-lunch browsing session.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacey k, Manager at Colophon Cafe, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Colophon Café! We are glad you came back to see us and we hope to see you again soon...you can never have enough books you know;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    40
    24
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“A Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I and a friend had lunch at the Colophon Cafe the other day and enjoyed it very much. For a book lover, the location attached to a bookstore can't be beat! And Fairhaven is a delightful area to explore. My wife had the chicken pot pie, and I had the turkey avocado sandwich, both of which were excellent. The sandwich was large and very filling (but not so filling as to prevent us having a wonderful gelato down the street!), and my wife said the pot pie was good. Our friend had the soup sampler and enjoyed it also. The sampler consists of 3 small bowls of soup--your choice from the menu. We remarked that you rarely see a sampler of soups--a nice touch. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacey k, Manager at Colophon Cafe, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi Don, Thank you for telling the world about our little locally owned café! We are proud to be a part of the Fairhaven community for almost 30 years! We hope you will stop in again when you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Super place for great homemade soups and sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This restaurant is located in a cute little area of Bellingham called Fairhaven. Every time I visit the area I make sure to stop here. Their sandwiches are great and their unusual list of soups are fantastic. Two of my favorites are the Split Pea soup and the African Peanut soup. The service is superb. The only disappointment this time was that the restaurant was located just on the lower floor of the building. It used to occupy 2 floors & had such quaint features as a dumb waiter that delivered food upstairs & downstairs as needed! This time the restaurant was under construction, so hopefully the finished product will reflect the "earthy" atmosphere it once had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacey k, Manager at Colophon Cafe, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Colophon! We are happy we remain at the top of your list when visiting Bellingham. We are remodeling the restaurant and updating it to maintain the Fairhaven charm. We couldn't say no to having a gourmet olive oil and vinegar tasting room above us. We are adding more booths, a fireplace and a small craft cocktail menu. We will continue to have our award winning soups, hearty sandwiches and healthy salads...with a few surprises thrown in. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cozy Colophon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Re-visiting The Colophon Cafe after a hiatus of 5 years...WOW!!!
African Peanut Soup remains outstanding - and custom veggie melt on wheat is a healthy and delectable twist on my comfort food standby of grilled cheese. The downstairs has stayed cozy in a comfortable way...I am coming back soon...with lots of friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacey k, Manager at Colophon Cafe, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for your recent review of the café! We are glad you came back and continue to be happy with the menu selection which includes our newest award winning clam chowder which is also available everyday with the African Peanut! We hope to see you and your friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly, good choice for families and vegetarians!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our family of four visited for lunch on a Sunday during a visit to WWU’s campus. With a pre-teen, teenager, and pescatarian in our group, it is not always easy to find a restaurant that appeals to all of us. The Colophon was a refreshing find.
Both kids ordered the French dip sandwich and a cup of the African peanut soup. The sandwiches were of good size and the kids chowed down on those. The peanut soup was a little on the bland side, but very peanutty. It could have perhaps used a little more spice. My husband ordered the turkey and avocado sandwich. It was a good-sized portion and the ingredients were all very fresh, but like the peanut soup, it could have used a little more spice and flavor. I ordered the superfood salad, which contained quinoa, feta, candied walnuts, and dried cranberries on a bed of greens with carrot miso dressing. The salad and dressing were delicious and I would definitely order it again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiasmith, General Manager at Colophon Cafe, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Colophon! Maybe you have a future Western student on your hands? We would love to see you again next time you are in town with our new menu and remodel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colophon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Colophon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colophon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.