We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd little restautrant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colophon Cafe

Colophon Cafe
1208 11TH St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7015
+1 360-647-0092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Dessert, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Located in historic building over a hundred years old and adjacent to city park space for nearly 30 years, the Colophon Cafe is the true heart of Fairhaven. We strive for fresh and delicious food, offering five homemade soups a day, fresh salads and good old comfort food with the best French dips, pulled pork and potpies. Our bakers make all our goodies from scratch. We are undergoing a remodel and expansion in early 2014 and are excited to see you soon!
Indian Shores, Florida
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Odd little restautrant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were in Fairhaven looking for a lunch spot. My husband said he wanted to sit outside and could see some tables through the store "Drizzle". Rightly enough to enter Colophon from the street you walk through "Drizzle" just as the sign says then go down the stairs. The other entrance is from the Village Square and that's where the outside seating is.
We both had just soup. I, the Thai green pea coconut and he, the African peanut soup. We both chose the grain roll but could have had the baguette. Both soups were very unusual but very tasty and homemade, the rolls were fresh. You have a choice of 3 sizes of soup which suited us as were not that hungry. The soup was overpriced.
The server was very friendly and chatty even though she seemed busy. It's a quirky building as there is the restaurant downstairs with a bookstore adjacent and the olive oil place upstairs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiasmith, Owner at Colophon Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our "odd little restaurant"! We love our quirkiness and that we are not like every other chain or trendy spot out there. Our soups are lovingly made from scratch every morning and not poured out of a bag, with 5-7 choices daily. Next time you are in Fairhaven, we will be excited to once again show you how different we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    35
    23
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hood River, Oregon, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as great as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Got a takeout Caesar salad, it was okay but a bit pricey for such a basic. Atmosphere inside is pretty blah. Nice servers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location, just average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Situated on Old Fairhaven square with outdoor seating, this place should be a slam dunk in good weather, however, the food is just average. Could be so much more, but isn't.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had lunch yesterday outside, nice view, farmers market going on really nice setting. But ~ I had a Greek salad small on size, but saturated in dressing, actually wilted not many vegetables, it did come with pita and hummus. $19.00 for this salad and iced tea, way to expensive for this meal, I will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fast service, good food, gluten free choices. I had a turkey avocado sandwich on gluten free bread with vegan pea soup, with a gluten free peanut butter cookie for dessert. On a summer Sunday, overlooking the Village green with a swing band concert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colophon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Colophon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colophon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.