We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, just average food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colophon Cafe

Colophon Cafe
1208 11TH St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7015
+1 360-647-0092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 388 restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Dessert, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Located in historic building over a hundred years old and adjacent to city park space for nearly 30 years, the Colophon Cafe is the true heart of Fairhaven. We strive for fresh and delicious food, offering five homemade soups a day, fresh salads and good old comfort food with the best French dips, pulled pork and potpies. Our bakers make all our goodies from scratch. We are undergoing a remodel and expansion in early 2014 and are excited to see you soon!
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location, just average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Situated on Old Fairhaven square with outdoor seating, this place should be a slam dunk in good weather, however, the food is just average. Could be so much more, but isn't.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    24
    29
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had lunch yesterday outside, nice view, farmers market going on really nice setting. But ~ I had a Greek salad small on size, but saturated in dressing, actually wilted not many vegetables, it did come with pita and hummus. $19.00 for this salad and iced tea, way to expensive for this meal, I will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fast service, good food, gluten free choices. I had a turkey avocado sandwich on gluten free bread with vegan pea soup, with a gluten free peanut butter cookie for dessert. On a summer Sunday, overlooking the Village green with a swing band concert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent peanut butter pie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We used to come to this quaint little restaurant in the heart of Fairhaven District in south Bellingham especially for their ice cream, particularly their chocolate peanut butter ice cream. When they were out of that we'd get the Moose trax. But this trip we spotted the chocolate peanut butter pie and it was fabulous! I have tried it in a number of restaurants and was always disappointed. However this time it was a hit! The only one I would return for. Maybe next time I'll get lucky and get both the ice cream and the pie. Yum! You have to try it. Really. But leave me a piece. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound, Washington
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Bellingham/Fairhaven must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I always make it a point to stop here for a bite when I'm in the area. The Colophon Cafe is wonderfully funky; with outdoor tables facing a park that often has a farmer's market and live entertainment in the summer. Food is good and servers are very friendly. As someone else mentioned, there's a great bookstore (Village Books) next door as well. A great way to spend a casual afternoon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colophon Cafe also viewed

Been to Colophon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colophon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.