We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent peanut butter pie!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colophon Cafe

Colophon Cafe
1208 11TH St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7015
+1 360-647-0092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 394 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Dessert, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Description: Located in historic building over a hundred years old and adjacent to city park space for nearly 30 years, the Colophon Cafe is the true heart of Fairhaven. We strive for fresh and delicious food, offering five homemade soups a day, fresh salads and good old comfort food with the best French dips, pulled pork and potpies. Our bakers make all our goodies from scratch. We are undergoing a remodel and expansion in early 2014 and are excited to see you soon!
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent peanut butter pie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We used to come to this quaint little restaurant in the heart of Fairhaven District in south Bellingham especially for their ice cream, particularly their chocolate peanut butter ice cream. When they were out of that we'd get the Moose trax. But this trip we spotted the chocolate peanut butter pie and it was fabulous! I have tried it in a number of restaurants and was always disappointed. However this time it was a hit! The only one I would return for. Maybe next time I'll get lucky and get both the ice cream and the pie. Yum! You have to try it. Really. But leave me a piece. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    23
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puget Sound, Washington
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A Bellingham/Fairhaven must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I always make it a point to stop here for a bite when I'm in the area. The Colophon Cafe is wonderfully funky; with outdoor tables facing a park that often has a farmer's market and live entertainment in the summer. Food is good and servers are very friendly. As someone else mentioned, there's a great bookstore (Village Books) next door as well. A great way to spend a casual afternoon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great prices, located in the Fairhaven Historic District, and great Pac NW food!! I recommend the African Peanut Soup - delicious and filling.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“FRiendly Staff and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

With no prior knowledge walking in while wandering through Fairhaven District. Not fancy at all, but comfortable. My wife had Italian Quiche, I had 1/2 french dip. WE both has clam chowder. Everything was very good. The bill was very reasonable. A very relaxing meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food. Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food was good but the staff made our experience here - so friendly and helpful.

The black bean veggie burger, served with a spicy salsa on the side, was tasty and filling. The Caesar salad came with a light dressing. The potato wedges were delicious.

Good coffee and the 'Arnold Palmer' iced tea (iced tea and lemonade) was very refreshing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colophon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Colophon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colophon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.