We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colophon Cafe

Colophon Cafe
1208 11TH St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7015
+1 360-647-0092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Dessert, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Located in historic building over a hundred years old and adjacent to city park space for nearly 30 years, the Colophon Cafe is the true heart of Fairhaven. We strive for fresh and delicious food, offering five homemade soups a day, fresh salads and good old comfort food with the best French dips, pulled pork and potpies. Our bakers make all our goodies from scratch. We are undergoing a remodel and expansion in early 2014 and are excited to see you soon!
North Vancouver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food. Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food was good but the staff made our experience here - so friendly and helpful.

The black bean veggie burger, served with a spicy salsa on the side, was tasty and filling. The Caesar salad came with a light dressing. The potato wedges were delicious.

Good coffee and the 'Arnold Palmer' iced tea (iced tea and lemonade) was very refreshing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    25
    30
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Central position, food "OK"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ate lunch here with friends. It was a warm day, so we ate outside. Friendly service. They were not overly busy (it was past 2pm), but it still took more than 15 minutes for our lunch to arrive. The clam chowder was rated "OK" by one friend. My ham and Swiss was uninspired and the rye bread was dry. However, they did make me an iced coffee that was excellent!

My husband soup of the day was a Greek lemon, which he enjoyed.

If I was in Fairhaven again, I would prefer to eat at Magdalena's creperie, just across the street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Billed as the coolest cafe in Bellingham! We ate there twice during our stay. Try the African Peanut Soup! You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Innovative menu and great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Best soup and sandwiches we've eaten in a long while. Fantastic service, reasonable prices and a kids' menu which is not simply filled with junk.

And finally, it's connected to Village Books, probably one of the best independent bookstores in the Pacific Northwest. Huzza.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Destination Eating Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I always come to this restaurant when I visit Bellingham. It is casual, very good food; you can sit inside or outside by the Village Green. Great soups and interesting sandwiches...a good mid day stop!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colophon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Colophon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colophon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.