We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Crab Cakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's Homeport

Anthony's Homeport
25 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 647-5588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hartsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Crab Cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A visit to Bellingham is not complete without at least one meal at Anthony's. Had lunch at this fine seafood restaurant yesterday. If you like crab cakes, they are a "must" and one of Anthony's signature dishes. Although generally served only on the dinner menu, the chef accommodated my crab cake request. And I was so glad he did, for they were FABULOUS!! Nothing but pure Pacific crab meat ... no fillers whatsoever. Rice pilaf and perfectly cooked string beans were delicious accompaniments, as was the warm, fresh baked sourdough bread served alongside. All in all, a superb meal to bring my Bellingham visit to an end. Will surely be dining at Anthony's again, next time I'm in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    71
    57
    20
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch yesterday & had their Crispy Coconut Prawns with a nice St Michelle's Indian Wells Cabernet. Both my wife and I loved the fresh salad with a type of peanut sauce dressing. The four prawns were large and came with jasmine rice. Although we enjoyed them we found them somewhat oily. We always enjoy this wine.

Service was good but not excellent.

The marina views are excellent and we will try this restaurant on a sunny day and order something somewhat lighter. Perhaps we will try the Mahi Mahi Tacos.

I would recommend it to friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“love seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

had an excellent meal here. Husband had coconut shrimp bowl only 4 shrimp but those were very good. Unusual shredded raw beet in with rice but came all attached together.
I had Oysters again they were excellent but more like oyster strips. The roasted veggies were great love the pumpkin seed but n need to have the French .fries as they were only average and took away from the whole meal. Loved the coleslaw..tried to get recipe but only got hints. Rice wine vinegar and pickled ginger.
Disappointed the bread was extra and the clam chowder too both delicious. Very small cups of clam chowder less than 1/3 cup. Hard not to lick the bowl.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food- always consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I love Anthony's restaurant for well prepared and fresh seafood dishes. The fish could come from the water right in front of the windows, it tastes so fresh. I go often for happy hour and dinner and am always satisfied.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We eat at Anthony's whenever we are in Bellingham visiting our daughter at WWU. Yes, it's a bit spendy but the food is excellent, the service is top-notch, and the atmosphere is magnificent. View of the marina and San Juan Islands as a backdrop. Be sure to make a reservation, and ask for a table by the windows. The thing I really like about this restaurant is that you never feel rushed. You can have the table for the whole evening if you like. We also like their Fireside Grill which is a little further down the same road, has an even better view, is a little less spendy, but is more trendy and can be very crowded. Would absolutely recommend either place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Homeport also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Homeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's Homeport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.