We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Choice: Good Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy McHale's Restaurant - CLOSED

Billy McHale's Restaurant
4301 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226
360 647 7763
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Easy Choice: Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place has your 1980's style big menu with almost everything on it. The service was excellent!! The food was good across the board...all 7 of us had a good meal: My wife's salmon was blackened and cooked perfectly, the prime rib was very good...one steak was overcooked and they replaced with a perfect one.
The food was well priced and everyone seemed to have agood time...they offer a 15% discount with your hotel key too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    35
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Billy McHale's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Poor quality food for a pub-style restaurant. Frozen fish for the fish and chips makes for a cardboard-like tasteless meal. The hamburgers are preformed and frozen patties that are very tough and mealy. Expected to get a fresh burger for the high price. Happy Hour drinks are watery and the prices are not very happy. Inconsistent service finishes this dining experience and ensures we will not be back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value and fun for the whole family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place has identified its niche and does it well. The menu is varied enough that I think almost anyone will find something they'll enjoy. The portions and food quality are good. This is not fine dining but is great for families or couples/groups of friends looking for a meal or snacks and drinks. The most impressive thing about this place besides the quality is the VALUE. It's a STEAL for what you get. We visit whenever we're in Bellingham and it never disappoints. The kids' menu and specials are especially high on the value scale. If you like fries or chips I highly recommend the homemade chips.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
234 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Some Hits and Some Misses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stopped here as we were driving through to Vancouver late afternoon on a weekday. We selected it based on the description in our AAA Tour Book. I had the full rack of ribs with twice baked potato and baked beans with a cup of seafood chowder. My wife had the Salmon Caesar salad. The chowder was very good with lots of seafood chunks.The ribs were meaty and tender but with too much of the sweet BBQ sauce for my taste. The potato was lukewarm and did not seem fresh. The beans were good. The salmon was excellent and the salad with it was very good. The salmon tasted very fresh. Service was friendly and attentive. I ordered the ribs because that is what they are known for (according to their menu and the AA book) but after tasting the ribs and then my wife's salmon, I think the salmon should get top billing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Find at the end of the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After a long and busy travelling day with no lunch we were driving around Bellingham looking for a restaurant to have a soul satisfying, family type home cooked meal. As luck would have it we found Billy McHales - a great first time experience.

The restaurant is quite large and has a most welcoming, happy atmosphere and even though it was a busy Wednesday night we were showed to a booth right away. We were rather surprised by the extensive menu with everything from soup and salads, steak and ribs, entres, wraps, sandwiches, burgers and everyone's favourite “munchies”. Did I mention there are seafood choices as well. And if you so desire, a selection of wines and 20 beer on tap as well as the usual beverage selections.

We settled for different styles of burgers ~ mine was a mouth watering turkey mushroom burger (which has to be eaten with a knife and fork!) along with crispy sweet potato fries followed by a New York style raspberry cheesecake – along with a coffee. Super!

The owners, Robert and Kristy, are “committed to providing best quality service and value ... and prepare nearly every menu item from scratch.” We wholeheartedly support this and believe it is quite unique today and not surprising they are an award winning family restaurant. The slogan on their coffee mugs pretty well sums up The Billy McHales Experience : “Family, Friends, Food and Fun”. Laughed at the birthday song and the little train.

Really a good way to relax and finish your day with tasty food, great service (thanks Nick!) in a happy, all age friendly, environment. It's great what you can find by chance. We'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy McHale's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy McHale's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.