We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for the $” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Country Buffet

Old Country Buffet
1 Bellis Fair Pkwy Ste 714, Bellingham, WA 98226
(360) 715-8240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best bang for the $”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hungry? this is the place to go, the long lineup at the door shows what people think, good hearty nourishing food, all you can eat, forget about the alcoholic drinks, save them for some other place
Staff is genuinely friendly, and helpful, this is not about fancy food, just food you like to eat, and lots of it, including desserts.
Two of us were well fed for under $25, try that anywhere with dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“GOOD SALAD BAR, GOOD DESERTS, NICE FOOD AT EXCELLENT PRICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I like this restaurant because:
1- You get excellent service, a hug from the manageress, and always a genuine smile from the cashiers.
2- The salad bar is quite well stocked and serves up FRESH salad with a decent number of choices.
3- The desert bar is extensive and good quality.
4- The food is usually nice. There's a young lady who carves the steaks. My uncle says her Dad must be a paper manufacturer because she slices the grilled meats too thin! hehe The Lasagna and Pastas can be cooked better tasting. The BBQ chicken has a weird taste to it (they should start using one of the successful BBQ chicken herb flavors). Everything else tastes good to me.

The draw backs:
1- I hate their soft drink cups (plastic!)
2- I wish they had more fruit. They usually only have one kind.
3- I wish they had better choice soups. I suggest they visit Souplantations and learn!
4- Most importantly: they can double their profit (by increasing prices 15%-20%) if they add some baked seafood (I would even welcome paying extra for prawns as an add-on). They almost never have good seafood and I only see some fish fillets in water and deep fried fish/shrimps.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH VANCOUVER
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“When in Rome.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We make it a point to go here when we are passing through.
Under $40 for 5 of us, not to shabby.
My kids love it.
There is enough selection for all eaters.
My daughter just eats the self serve tacos!
Lots of hot and cold dishes.
Desserts are good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Run-of-the-mill cafeteria food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is run of the mill cafeteria food,. Not the place to go for freshly prepared fresh food. Some might like it for lots of food at a cheap price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“bland food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

the food is too bland, if that is what you are looking for go ahead, to me it is a major no-no. Although the location is great if you must visit the mall.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Country Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Old Country Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Country Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.