We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellingham GuestHouse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bellingham GuestHouse Inn to your Saves list
Bellingham GuestHouse Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this property for the price. The room was clean and comfortable, with no noise as we were on the other side from the highway. It is easy walking distance to the old part of Bellingham. The room had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker which were all clean and in good condition. It also had free wifi. We did not have breakfast so can't comment but I would recommend this place as good value if you are not looking for frills.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room on the other side from the highway for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Lozza! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am happy that we were able to make you comfortable during your visit! It is our goal to provide a comfy sleep, a hot shower and a tasty breakfast to start the day. A good rest and stay is paramount when traveling. It can make or break the start of the day! Please visit us again the next time you are in the area and again, thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    66
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
48
42
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

stayed one night (& would do so again in the future)

clean & cozy room, continental breakfast (with fresh fruit & boiled eggs & pre-formed egg patties etc)

friendly staff; great location a stone's throw from the I-5 north / south exits

as previous reviewers noted, my room also had a large wall unit that held an old big TV, closet, drawers & mini-fridge (an adult could put a small mattress on top of the wall unit and sleep there). But given what the wall unit contained, it was a reasonable use of space

two reviewers had problems changing TV channels. I pulled the little black cable box up to the front of the TV / wall unit, and was able to change channels even when pointing the remote in the other direction.

[personal rant: why do some reviewers rage about one or two hairs lying about their room? Are there no stray hairs in their own bathroom / bedroom? Do they expect the absolute purity of an Intel 'clean room'?]

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and the suggestion for the cable box. You are spot on about how pulling the box a bit forward does wonders. Sometimes when dusting, the box will slip back and not receive the signal from the remote. I also appreciate your candor and your kind words about our staff. They are a hard working bunch and are often the unsung heroes. On their behalf, thank you!
We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
M. Howard
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked this stay through 'Hotwire' and wasn't disappointed to be staying here. Price was very good and it was a quick one night stay and out. Now, all I ever need is cleanliness and a comfortable bed. The Guesthouse Inn was clean but VERY outdated. Our two Queen room had a massive wall unit in it with an old school TV that literally took up all your space at the foot of the bed. The beds themselves were old with soft spots and dips in them. Pillows were more like throw pillows on grandma's couch and bathroom was dated worn. Almost felt like this is a place that would still advertise 'Color TV'

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. You mentioned the cleanliness of our hotel and for this I say thank you. We have a crew in housekeeping that work very hard to provide a clean and comfy stay for our guest. As you noticed, things are showing a bit of age in our facility. The great news is, we have an upgrade just around the corner. Perhaps you will notice the changes upon your next stay. Please do visit again! We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed there for our first time as we were flying out of Bellingham. The hotel was nice.... no complaints. They offered free parking for 7 nights, while several charged for this. They also offered free shuttle to and from the airport. They offered a hot continental breakfast but we slept in and missed it. Would definitely stay there again if ever flying out of Bellingham.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I appreciate that you will be using The Guesthouse as your go to "Park and Fly" hotel! We really do appreciate your business. Do visit us again soon and again, thank you for your time!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

the bathtub is too old and have dirty marks. but the bath room floor is very clean and dry.
the receptionist is not very friendly and patience when I asked some question.
the breakfast is ok. It was told that the rooms with two beds are all along the high way so there has some noise issue.
the air condition has no temprature number.

Room Tip: rooms with one bed may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Perhaps we will see you again and have the opportunity to provide you our usually high level of customer service as well as another clean and comfy stay.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Guesthouse is located very near downtown and the WWU campus. It is right near the freeway on-ramps so they have easy access to everything in the area. The proximity of the WWU campus was why chose this place but it has easy access to everything. The room was quiet and large. Very clean, very accommodating. The last time we were in Bellingham I was recently out of a wheelchair and using a 4 wheel walker, so I noticed and appreciated the lift arm into the hot tub. Parking was very plentiful, always a spot near our room.

Room Tip: Ask for near the hot tub/vending machines. No fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Andy C! Thanks for staying with us and for your great review! I am happy that we were able to provide a comfortable stay for you while visiting WWU. We always welcome our parents and families of Western and we appreciate you choosing the Guesthouse. How wonderful that the lift was able to make your use of the hot tub easier and safer for you. Please do come see us again when you are in the area!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Spent three nights at the GuestHouse Inn earlier this week. My pleasant king size bedded room was comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The cordial, helpful front desk staff added to the enjoyable stay, as did availability of breakfast food items served every morning. And they're included in the price of the room. Dollar for dollar GuestHouse Inn offers good value. The hotel is well located on Lakeway Drive just one minute from Interstate 5. It's my "go to" place whenever
staying in Bellingham. Thanks GuestHouse Inn for another enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Knight1!

It was great to meet you and I am quite pleased that we were able to provide a clean and comfy stay for you. Knowing that you are well seasoned traveler, I appreciate your review very much! Thank you for the kind words about our staff and for sharing about your stay. Please do come back and see us whenever you are in the area! You and your Brother were great guest!

Regards,
Molly H.
Assistant General Manager
Bellignham Guesthouse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
2.5 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
#11 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellingham GuestHouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellingham GuestHouse Inn

Address: 805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bellingham GuestHouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bellingham GuestHouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.