We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel but clean with friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bellingham GuestHouse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bellingham GuestHouse Inn to your Saves list
Bellingham GuestHouse Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dated hotel but clean with friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed the night here as we were flying out of Bellingham International in the morning. Location was good and close to the airport. Hotel decor was dated, as was the comforter on the bed which seemed very worn. Bathroom wall had some wallpaper coming away from the wall at the bottom but otherwise the room seemed in good condition and was clean.TV was a pain to use and took us about 5 minutes of waving the remote around to various positions trying to get it to turn on. Staff were very friendly and the most outstanding part of this place. Breakfast in the morning was the standard fare although it would have been nice to see some sort of meat to put on the breakfast sandwich. Overall fairly average place nothing too exciting but it got the job done.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have much less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. While I am thrilled with your comment regarding the cleanliness of our hotel, I am even prouder of the complement of our crew! We have a great crew here that works very hard to provide a clean, comfortable stay for our guest! I absolutely love sharing these complements with the team as they are what makes our place work! Thank you very much for your thorough review and the candid thoughts that you have shared with us. Please do come back and see us next time you are in Bellingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
41
32
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Easily accessible from I-5, though I did not hear the highway noise. The room was small, which was fine for me traveling alone. I had a single queen bed room...perhaps a different room would have more space. Breakfast was your typical motel fare...though people were making their own waffles, which seemed quite popular. Easy access to all of the lovely Bellingham activities. Safe area. Seemed a bit overpriced, but I think a lot of lodging in the area is. I got a deal on Priceline, which made it a great deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Halekat,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad that we were able to provide for your needs while here in Bellingham. Please keep us in mind on your next time you are in Bellingham! We would love the opportunity to provide you a comfortable stay once again.

Again, thank you!

M. Howard
AGM Bellingham Guesthouse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We moved from the Best Western across the street because the cost of the BW was to high for the area. The Guesthouse suited us just fine and was $50 a night cheaper. The room also came with an extended continental breakfast. They had precooked scrambled egg squares there that you could use to make an egg sandwich along with Waffles and other std. continental breakfast Items. We stayed there for 4 days and the service was excellent and the staff very freindly

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello Bob H.!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am glad that we were able to provide a clean and comfortable stay for you. I especially appreciate your compliment regarding the staff. We have an awesome crew that really do care about your stay and love to engage with our guest.
Please do come see us again when you visit the area. It will be our pleasure to have you as our guest!

Thank you again for your time and thoughtfulness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I have never left a hotel after checking in until now. Room was average ... although if you had the window open you could not have a conversation over the freeway traffic noise.....until we pulled back the sheets. A hair! Stains! Unclean!! We immediately requested to check out (with hardly an apology). As we leave we notice a lot of homeless loitering through the parking lot and later learn this part of town is known for transients and drugs. Run away!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We provide clean and comfortable guest rooms, and it seems there was a problem with your particular room and for that we apologize and as this is a very unusual occurrence. Our hotel is very clean, as are the rooms, and the sheets. It is important to be truthful. The desk clerk did apologize, and offered to move this guest to an upgraded junior suite at a discounted rate. The guest chose to leave, and we obliged not to charge anything for the inconvenience. To address the freeway noise, we are ideally located just off the I-5, there is low rumble of traffic, but it does not hinder having a conversation. As far as "this part of town being known for transients and drugs" that is incorrect, its a different part of town. We are centrally located to downtown Bellingham, and there could be a random occurrence, however our hotel and parking lot are very safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed one night while in Bellingham for a wedding and it was just right. Great location , easy access to everything , clean, quiet, very friendly staff. What more can I say? Oh and a great price, too!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Islabound! Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review! I am so pleased that our crew and their hard work provided a "Great" stay for you! Please do visit us again when you are in the area. We love earning the relationship with our Guest!

Thank you again!

Molly Howard
AGM Guesthouse Intl.
Bellingham Wa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very friendly, convenient, super clean AND offering an excellent breakfast. Fair price, shuttle service, guest computer... Because we checked in early and our room was not ready, we received the best suite in the house at no extra charge! Only the hot tub was out of order.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
J_S_,

Thanks so much for the great review of your stay!! I appreciate your time and kind words! We have a great team here that works very hard to deliver a comfy, clean stay for our guest! Please do come visit when you are in the area.
Again, thank you very much!

M.J. Howard
A.G.M. Bellingham Guesthouse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I’ve stayed in the Guest House in on three different occasions. It’s located near the freeway and WWU. First the good; the front office staff are friendly.The free breakfast is kept stocked. The beds are fine and the showers clean. The rooms come with a small fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The rooms away from the freeway are able to have a peak-a-boo view of Mt. Baker which is beautiful.
Now the not so good. The king room is a decent size although not huge and one side of the bed is very close to the wall. The queen only room however is the smallest hotel room I’ve ever stayed in. I guess it doesn’t matter if you are just sleeping or the only one in the room but it would never work with my husband or family. The TV’s are not flat screen and you have to point the remote exactly at the right point or it won’t turn on or change the channel.
But upon a closer look…the furniture, bed spread and carpets are stained, burned, snagged and just worn out. That again is normal for an older hotel but I think they have a dirty little secret…they don’t change the bed linens after each guest. The first time I stayed at the hotel, I found a few hairs when I pulled the sheets back. Well, hairs can get stuck to sheets I guess and I picked them off and threw them away. The next time I stayed at the hotel however, we arrived very late at night but again pulled the sheets back and again found not only hairs but snot stuck to the sheets! OMG! No washer is going to leave that on a sheet! Again it was late and I slept on the top sheet and a clean towel as a blanket. We had to leave early and didn’t say anything to the management.
The only reason for my last visit was that other hotels I like are not conveniently located to the college and I figured to give it another try. Location is everything as they say. This time I arrived right at 2:00. I was again greeted with a smile and again they were able to put me in a room away from the freeway. The first thing I did was to pull the sheets back on the bed. Sure enough, hair and well, some type of bodily goo. I figured I’d just change my own sheets and went to one of the room cleaners who was working just a few doors down. Oh, she said, sorry but no, she didn’t have any clean sheets on her cart. She said maybe the second floor maid had some. (I saw her later cleaning other rooms down the hall but it’s interesting how she could do that without clean sheets?!)
Well, now I just went to the front office and said I’d like clean sheets because mine did not appear clean on my bed. She had no reaction, no apologies but moved me to another room. (Some poor unsuspecting person slept in that other bed I bet.) The last room had clean sheets. Unfortunately, the furniture was still stained and the carpet under the bed had not been vacuumed.
For $105 a night, I think they could do a better job. I’ll probably stay again (the hotel across the street run $175 a night!) and again, location is everything. I’ll just make sure to pull back those sheets!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the mountain side, not the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you also for your kind words about the staff and about the rooms, beds, amenities, and the services we offer. I sincerely apologize for the situation you experienced with the sheets on your beds. This is a serious complaint and I will most definitely look into it, and I thank you for bringing it to my attention. I can tell you, we never leave sheets from a prior guest on a bed, and we always change the linens. It is not a dirty little secret. If there was a mistake made, I surely apologize for this. And we would never rent a room to another guest without re-cleaning it from a prior guest moving to another room. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we operate a very clean hotel. Please call the General Manager directly when making your next reservation with us, and I will ensure you a great rate and wonderful guest room. Thanks again for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellingham GuestHouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellingham GuestHouse Inn

Address: 805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bellingham GuestHouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bellingham GuestHouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.