We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms were better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Inn Bellingham to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
san diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rooms were better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

stayed here for a quick night while traveling from Canada back to Seattle. We hotwired this hotel and got it for $85. So, for the price and star level, we weren't expecting much. It is located right next to the 5 freeway and after reading reviews about the noise level, we requested and were actually already booked for a room not facing the freeway. After checking in we were nervous to go into the room as the lobby was pretty run down, however, the staff was very friendly. Surprisingly, the room was better than we expected. Clean and the bathroom was freshly painted. The location is very conveniently located and Bellingham itself is a fantastic place. Woods coffee right next to the hotel is the best we've had (wish there were more locations.) The fresh waffle maker is a nice addition to the complimentary breakfast, however the only protein available was peanut butter.

Room Tip: request a room not facing the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your room. Thank you also for the feedback about the lobby and about our breakfast selections. It is important for us to hear these concerns, so we are able to make improvements for the future. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back through Bellingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked a Priceline room, rate was average. Had to pay 20 dollars extra at check-in for two queen beds. Breakfast was basic, and the person working breakfast rude. We showed up about 10 minutes before breakfast was to end; she was not happy.

Room was small and basic, but adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaredites1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I appreciate receiving feedback from our guests. I apologize for the experience you had in our breakfast room. Our breakfast attendants are very outgoing, enthusiastic guest service representatives, and it is very unlike them to be rude. I will most definitely have a conversation with them and follow up, and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. I hope that you will return and come visit us again in the future, so we can make your visit a wonderful one. Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed on this property for a total of six nights over the space of two weekends. In both cases, we were very pleased with our stays. In the first instance, we had a ground floor accessible king room which was pretty good except that I think a wheelchair user would find navigating around the bed a bit difficult. This was the only room available when we reserved for the weekend of WWU's graduation but it was a good value nonetheless. The first room faced the I-5, but the road noise was less than we had noted in the Best Western property nearby. The second time we were in a queen room on the second floor and it was a bit smaller, but perfectly adequate. In both instances, I had difficulty getting and maintaining a WiFi connection but there is an available PC for guests in the lobby. Lobby WiFi was also very good. The breakfast included in the rate was more than adequate with a wide choice including two waffle machines. Housekeeping was very good for both stays. We will probably utilize the property again as our son's home is only three blocks from hotel. Good adjacencies to downtown, Fred Meyer and other attractions. EZ on/off from the I-5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternNYTravelFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I were on a little west coast vacation and stopped for one night at the Guest House inn in Bellingham on our way back to Vancouver. Our room was reasonably priced and spotless and met all our needs. The beds were very comfortable and the refrigerator and microwave were appreciated. Our only complaint was the Internet stopped working in our room and we had to go to the lobby to book our next nights accommodation. It was a small inconvenience but an inconvenience all the same. The hotel is right off I5and we could hear the freeway a little from our room but it wasn’t obtrusive. There is a basic hot continental breakfast provided with waffle, strawberries and whipped cream but no eggs or meat.
The hotel is not in a touristy area but is close to downtown Bellingham and some shopping. Just a short walk north is the Washington state tourist office where you can check out what is in the area.
All in all the hotel more than met our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us!! We have such a great crew, and they work so very hard to create a welcoming and comfortable stay for our guest!! I do apologize for the lack of eggs...we usually have both egg patties and hard boiled eggs. Thank you for letting us know!
Again, thanks so much for the kind words! We do appreciate it and I will pass it along to the crew.
We hope that when your adventures bring you to the Bellingham area, you will choose Bellingham Guesthouse Inn for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Molly Howard
AGM Bellingham Guesthouse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Convenient location. Thin walls are a little noisy. Nice breakfast. Walking distance to downtown and WWU. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. Whatcom Falls park and Larrabee State Park are beautiful places to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on your stay with us!! We are strive to provide a great and comfy stay for our guest! I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of our local beauty. The Bellingham area has so many beautiful parks and scenic spots to enjoy rain or shine. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Thank you!!
Molly Howard
AGM/Group Coordinator
Bellingham Guesthouse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Well kept, comfortable & clean.
Easy to find & a nice breakfast included. I would stay again. Not that far from downtown & restaurants. The staff was helpful. Only one issue was the noise from I-5, we turned the fan for A/C on the second night & that did the trick.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suezm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Sue,

Thank you for the great review!! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you received a great deal! There is nothing like a "Great deal" to make your travel day! A great rest, a hot shower and a tasty breakfast is our goal for each and every guest, every day! I am glad that we were able to make your stay "Very nice!". We look forward to having you with us again.

Thank you!!
Molly Howard
AGM/Group Coordinator
Bellingham Guesthouse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pacific
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Beliingham GuestHouse Inn for two nights (16-18 May, 2013). We were visiting our daughter at Western Washington U. The hotel is an easy five-minute drive even to the opposite end of campus, and very near all the shops, restaurants etc. of downtown. It would not take long to walk to either from the GuestHouse Inn.
We were quite happy with our stay. The hotel building sits very close to the 5 freeway, so we were sure to ask for a room on the other side. It's also a pet-friendly place, so since neither my wife nor I wish to sleep in pet-infested rooms, we mentioned this when we were making the reservation, and apparently the entire 3rd floor has been kept animal-free. So that's where we were.
The rooms, as others have observed, are on the small side, so there's not much room to spread out in. But honestly, for the rate ($95 double occupancy, 2 queen-size beds), it was perfectly suitable. There's a fridge (no freezer) and microwave, cable TV, the usual. Nice shower. All very clean. There is a "spa" (a whirlpool bath), which we didn't use, but no pool or fitness room--which was too bad. Really the only thing I missed. Can't have everything.
The breakfast is the standard waffle-iron, coffee 'n' juice, muffins, and toast routine, all kept splendidly full by a charming and cheerful employee. In fact, everyone there was very kind and helpful. We were greeted by a note and mints from the housecleaning staff--nice touch. This place was everything we needed, and definitely worth what we spent on it. We plan to go back to Bellingham pretty regularly, and will definitely stay at the GuestHouse Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siebesich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for such a thorough and thoughtful review. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a great and comfortable stay while visiting your Daughter at Western! While you are correct that we don't offer a work out facility, our staff would be happy to share some great trail ideas with you. One particular walk is along the Interurban Trail. The boardwalk strolls out over the water starting at Boulevard Park and stretching into Fairhaven. An easy even walk even with strollers, scooters or wheelchairs. We have many more great outing ideas that will provide you with some exercise while enjoying our great outdoors!

Again, thank you! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Molly Howard
AGM/Group Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 27 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 27 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
3.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Address: 805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing