We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Bellingham area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellingham GuestHouse Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bellingham GuestHouse Inn to your Saves list
Bellingham GuestHouse Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Value in Bellingham area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Once again my husband and I stayed at this hotel on our way down to Las Vegas recently.
Love the service and value received including a nice room with comfortable beds, hot tub & excellent complementary breakfast before using their free shuttle bus service to the airport and back to the hotel upon completion of our holiday, Our car is safe in their parking lot all free with their Park & Fly option. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return on our next trip down to Vegas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    32
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
38
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
comox valley, bc
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

we checked in here for one night after a long day of driving back to Canada. The room was small but comfortable. We could walk to the downtown (go to Boundry Bay brew pub, it's fantastic!) and have dinner and drinks and felt perfectly safe doing so on a Saturday night. We've never eaten at a hotel with a self serve breakfast and prob. won't waste our time doing so again even though it is included in the room price. I'm sorry, but pre-cooked poached eggs, strange looking sausage patties and bacon that you heat in the microwave is a terrible breakfast idea. All the "food" choices were so full of preservatives that they can't possibly go bad sitting out for hours. Nothing is on ice. There isn't even butter or margarine...it's "whipped spread". Yuck.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Thank you also for your kind words, and thank you for your comments about breakfast selection. I do apologize that we did not offer something in our breakfast that you were interested in, and I am taking your comments and seeing what addtions we can make. Thank you. We look forward to serving you again, when your travels bring you back to the Bellingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I went to Bellingham to see a show at the wild Buffalo last Friday and we needed a basic hotel to spend the night. This hotel was in a decent enough location, super easy to find and a quick walk to the downtown area. The rooms aren't super big, but they were clean and comfy.

The staff were super nice and they were really accommodating for me and my dogs, the dog fee is only $10 which is very reasonable.

The breakfast was included in the cost and was way better than expected. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I appreciate knowing that you enjoyed your stay, and we fulfilled our guarantee of a clean and comfortable guest room. Thank you also for your kind words about the staff members that work so hard to make your stay enjoyable. And thanks you for your comments about our complimentary expanded breakfast. We look forward to serving you again, when your travels bring you back to the Bellingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I checked into the Guest House Inn with our dog, because we needed a place to stay before a medical procedure. The room had everything we needed, including microwave, coffe pot, fridge and clean and comfy room. We locked ourself out of the car the morning of the Dr. appointment, which was very stresssful, but the desk staff was very calming and called us a cab so we wouldn't be late. Later they came to the hospital and picked us all up, and the maintence man worked hard to get our car unlocked, which was above and beyond the call of duty. I will reccommend this Inn to my friends, and will be back to stay here again. Thank you Molly, Brianna, Trevor and Craig.You made a stressful weekend into one that was enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Thank you also for your kind words about the staff members that work so hard to make your stay enjoyable. I am glad to hear we achieved our goal of delivering a comfortable guest room with excellent customer service. There is no feeling that compares to that of a satsified guest. We look forward to serving you again, when your travels bring you back to the Bellingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were here for the Bellingham Bay Marathon. We stayed here because the Best Western (one of the event sponsors) was full. Upon check in the couple in front of us asked for a late check out and the front desk staff told them flat out "NO" they said that because they had a number of Marathon people there that a late check out would overload the housekeeping staff. Really? They couldn't plan extra staff for this one day? It's not as if there was another event happening the next day. I would think that the management had plenty of time to plan ahead, or even set aside a few specific rooms for the marathoners who may want a shower after the race. As it was, I couldnt find a shower after the race.
The room was average, we did not use any of the amenities.
The staff at check in did not seem very accomodating, one youn lady was checking people in while another lady stood by watching her. Why she didn't open up the second check-in window is beyond me...she just stood there and told people "NO". I wasn't impressed AT ALL with her level of service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I apologize that your experience while staying at our hotel was not pleasing and that you encountered some problems with our guest service. We do allow reasonable late check-outs on a case by case basis. However, when the late check-out makes it impossible for us to rent the room for the following evening, there is an additional fee. I would love a chance to redeem ourselves and give you the experience you deserve. If your travels bring you to the Bellingham area, please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My tweenage daughter and i checked in to a groundfloor suite right on the parking lot. While there was a screen on it, the window lock was not working. I called front desk to say i wasnt comfortable and wanted to be moved. They sent us to the top floor to a much cleaner,quieter, safer feeling suite. The breakfast included waffle machines, plus precooked sausage, bacon, eggs (that you nuke to eat) muffins, bagels, yogurt, juice, apples, cereal. While not top quality, there was lots and certainly did the trick to get us rolling for a long day of back to school shopping. Staff were busy trying to keep up with the spills and messes of those with little regard for others so the area was reasonably clean. Bathrooms are tiny, but the sink and counter are outside of the toilet/bath area which sometimes works better in a shared situation - one can do hair and make up and teeth brushing while the other showers, etc. Wifi is a bonus.

Room Tip: 316 was a king bed that was in a quiet room. 115 was a lousy room - broken window lock, food stains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay! I am sorry that you felt unsafe but I am equally happy that we were able to move you and provide you the feeling of security you were seeking. I hope you and your "tweener" had fun shopping and please do stay with us again when you are in the area.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel was amazing - excellent price, close proximity to stores/downtown. Fred Meyer is across the street which provided everything we needed. Breakfast was fabulous. Front desk staff rocked! Cannot say enough - would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We do appreciate it very much! We try to provide a comfortable, quality stay for all of our guests and it sounds like we were able to provide this for you! Again, thank you for the kind words and we hope to have you with us next time you are in the area!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellingham GuestHouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellingham GuestHouse Inn

Address: 805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bellingham GuestHouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bellingham GuestHouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.