We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modern Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Northwest Avenue, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Modern Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a great addition this hotel is to Bellingham. They certainly stepped out of the box when designing this hotel. From the time you step into the lobby you get the feeling of fresh modern design with guests in mind. Walking into the room was a great surprise. The room has a large sitting area with a nicely designed desk area that includes a sliding panel to open it to the bed area. There is both a powder room and bath room with beautiful sliding panel doors with frosted glass. There is a small service area with refrigerator and coffee maker. I just loved the feel of this room as soon as we walked in the door.

As a brand new hotel everything was very fresh and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine but a bit disappointed that they had such limited offerings. They could have a better cereal choice and some hot options such as the automatic pancake maker or waffle maker. I just thought they needed to step that up a bit to be in keeping with the rest of the hotel quality. It's a free breakfast though so not much to complain about.

We had a room at the back of the hotel and our view was gorgeous, nothing but trees and Mt. Baker.

This will be my only hotel choice in Bellingham from here on out.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, top floor offers excellent view. WOW
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane O, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear 2ndstar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We love the design of the hotel from the lobby to the rooms as you had pointed out. The waffles we break out on the weekends for breakfast as we anticipate more kids and I apologize you didn't get a chance at some. The view from our upper rooms is amazing and thank you for saying so. If there is anything else you could think of to help us improve our service in the future please let us know. Again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Shane O'Flaherty
Front Office Manager
SpringHill Suites by Marriott
Bellingham, WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    64
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
86
63
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Bellingham was the last stop on a family vacation to the U.S. before returning to Canada due to it's proximity to the border and abundance of shopping choices. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice in accommodation. This hotel is new, modern, clean, and affordable, and easily accessible from the highway. We stayed in a room with two queen beds and a pull-out and still had room to move about. Very quiet. We appreciated the underground parking and free wifi. The staff were friendly, welcoming, and very helpful. The pool area was clean with towels available. The complimentary breakfast was an added bonus with plenty of food options - both hot and cold - and a good amount of seating. Shopping areas are very close by. We had the unfortunate experience of being rear-ended at a stop sign the day before and the front desk personnel were very accommodating - helping us with paperwork, faxing, and mailing of documents to our insurance company. As a result, we checked in a little stressed and checked out completely impressed. We would definitely stay here again on another visit to Bellingham.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane O, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Altamom,

Thank you very much for your awesome review of our hotel. Having a minor accident before arriving at a hotel can be a taxing experience and we are glad we could help you in whatever way we were able. Your review touched on so many things that we love here from the underground parking to the breakfast and thank you for mentioning them. Again, thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Shane O'Flaherty
Front Office Manager
SpringHill Suites by Marriott
Bellingham, WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This Springhill is a new property and I have not stayed in one in many years. The hotel is modern and fresh with a clean bright design. The lobby area is well designed and attractive, with a welcoming bar area and lounge. The restaurant portion is similarly appealing. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful in every respect. The room is well thought-out in design with all the furnishings one might want. Evidently, one could sleep four people with reasonable privacy afforded to all. A water closet separate from the shower and sink would come in particularly useful if availing oneself of that arrangement. The bed was comfortable and the room was kept clean by housekeeping. Replenishment of towels and coffee service items was spotty - a slight annoyance. Breakfast was pretty good and I was pleased that most days one had metal flatware and real crockery (instead of that dreadful plastic and styrofoam one encounters elsewhere.) An added bonus was a jazz trio on Friday and Saturday evenings with the managers interacting pleasantly with the guests. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for a west-facing room - those ones have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane O, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Hamish P,

Thank you for all the kind words you wrote in your review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests'. Thank you so much for noticing our real cutlery and dishes as this is a unique feature for most Spring Hill Suites I have seen. Again, thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Shane O'Flaherty
Front Office Manager
SpringHill Suites by Marriott
Bellingham, WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a wonderful surprise from the moment we entered the lobby. Clean, modern, upbeat, welcoming, friendly staff. When we got to our room it was mores than we expected. A true suite, again, in modern design that made it look clean and fresh and up to date. Bathroom had lots of towels and upgraded amenities, the room was clean and inviting, the bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed just being in the room and resting and watching TV in the evening. We will definitely be back again in August and whenever we visit Bellingham and invite everyone else to enjoy this wonderful hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Wow - thanks for sharing such a wonderful experience! I'm so happy to see we met your needs in providing such a great stay. Thank you for being such a SpringHill Suites Bellingham ambassador! We look forward to seeing you next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

For the price this is the best place to stay in Bellingham - I know tripadvisor has Fairhaven inn at #1 which it deserves but that is more than twice the price. This place is new clean and a free breakfast. Great location to access the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us Dave and for taking time to share your experience. We certainly agree we should be at the number 1 spot for Bellingham - thanks for helping us get there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Been to many places and have stayed at some of the best but this hotel stands out for a number of reasons. Met the manager Keith and was super impressed. The evening entertainment was fantastic. But I have to add one demerit. The shower in my room was very weird. You have to enter the shower before you adjust the water temp. Ouch!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Fritz! It was great to meet you Saturday and thank you so much for staying with us. Thanks also for the heads up with your shower in your room - we will look into this and ensure it's taken care of. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the music in our Lobby Bar over the weekend as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel seems very new. The rooms are laid out and decorated in modern upscale style. Living room area is comfortable and roomy, kitchen has all you'd need, bathroom is large and lovely (though toilet area being separate is a bit odd).

Staff knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Amenities and grounds lovely. Hotel is north of the historic area of Bellingham (which puts you about 10 minutes closer to Vancouver). Right off the interstate, easy drive north to Canada or south to historic center of charming Bellingham with wonderful restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Marti - thanks for such a great review and for sharing your experience. I'm so happy to see we took such great care of you during your stay with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Bellingham
4.7 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham by Marriott
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Bellingham Airport
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham

Address: 4040 Northwest Avenue, Bellingham, WA 98226
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites by Marriott®, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed Internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free WiFi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.