We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American Take On Japanese Decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Northwest Avenue, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Mercer Island, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“American Take On Japanese Decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This property if quite new reflecting a very modern approach to suite-motels. A well executed cross between a traditional hotel with bar and restaurant and enhanced motels with self serve breakfast. The decor is quite modern with an open reception/bar/grill/breakfast dining area stylishly arranged to be cozy, compact and useful. The rooms are laid out with a separated sleeping and lounge area featuring separate shower and toilet enclosures secured with sliding "pocket" doors. Having traveled to Japan a couple of times the the treatment reminds one of modernistic Japanese hotel treatments. Very functional, stylish and, for the price, a good value. At the time of this visit Bellingham was receiving a wet snow shower so the covered parking was a welcomed surprise as the cars left outside were a slushy mess the next morning. This place is so well laid out that the garage door is recessed just enough under the building to cover a rolled down car window when accessing the key pad.

Staff work was top notch and the location, while not in the heart of eclectic downtown, is very convenient in terms of freeway and airport and with the town well served by freeway exits accessing downtown is surprisingly easy. If one is looking for a car-less urban experience this is not your place but for a car travelers up for the night to visit the kid at college this is a very fine base camp.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for the response and vivid description of our hotel. We are certainly very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us (in spite of the winter 'surprise') and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    38
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
38
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was very surprised as to how nice this place is. I have lived in their Suites for four months in GA, this one is by far the best I have been in.
The front staff was very helpful as well. When Allegiant Air messed up our vacation, this hotel helped when they did not hove to.
Thank you Springhill, I will see you again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Lindel, Thank you for the review! Who wouldn't love to be called a "Class Act". It certainly is unfortunate when vacation plans don't go as intended (or expected) and I am nothing short of delighted to hear how my team pulled it together for you. While we weren't part of the original plan, I'm pleased the SpringHill Suites Bellingham will at least be a fond memory of your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay - both times completely satisfied - all amenities - decor a bit stark & space age, but in all it was a lovely experience...breakfast buffet was complete & quite lavish tho individual components were a bit disappointing - fruit pretty but unripe, eggs cold when I got there , bacon not crisp - but this is all timing...they are really trying ...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for the response, Carol. We really appreciate your time and patience as we continue to grow and improve every day! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a near brand new location and has all of the updated amenities that you might expect a SpringHill Suites to have. Modern lobby. Full service bar with decent menu of food items. Full, hot breakfast served everyday (complimentary). A great indoor pool with hot tub. The rooms are standard rooms with comfortable beds and spacious rooms. We had the two double bed + sofabed setup and it works perfectly for us and our two girls. The furniture is very modern but functional in that it can easily be stowed out of the way when using the pull out bed. Overall, a great stay and we would definitely recommend it. The location is not prime to downtown Bellingham but it's not a far drive.

Room Tip: We waited for a room on the top floor (5th floor) knowing that all new hotels tend to have thinner w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Morning Mr. Miller and thank you for taking time to share your experience at the SpringHill Suites Bellingham! I'm happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your time with us. I also wanted to make sure you were aware we have 24/7 shuttle service that covers a 5-mile radius around the hotel, which can certainly help getting you into downtown or other areas without the hassle of driving. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Needing to spend a weekend in Bellingham for a public function, we chose this new hotel because, frankly, the price couldn't be beat and we figured we couldn't go wrong at a Marriot. This hotel is only about a year old, so it is in near perfect condition. We arrived earlier than the prescribed 3pm check-in time (which I had noted in my reservation), so the king room we reserved was not ready. We were offered a double queen instead and since the size of the room and amenities were comparable, we decided it was fine so we could make our function in plenty of time.
The room was spacious and well appointed. The water closet being separate from the rest of the bathroom was a surprise, and sliding doors for both that and the shower/vanity areas were a nice feature. A lovely sofa seating and a roomy desk area make up the front of the suite; a large, almost walk-in closet and two dressers are provided. The room has a microwave, fridge, hair dryer, mini coffee maker, ironing board, and large tv (which is difficult to see from the bed unless you're sitting up because the dresser it sits on is low).
We were disappointed that the room failed to provide a local entertainment and dining guide (which is however, available at the front desk) and that the trash cans had no liners (putting the coffee packets in an open, wire trash basket was unappealing, so I used the bag that came w/ the ice bucket.) That little coffee maker was a disappointment as well and we did end up asking the front desk to send up more coffee and creamer. For a couple that regularly drinks coffee, the little "one cup at a time" was aggravating. We ended up stopping again at the desk late at night to get more sugar and we washed and reused the little foam cups provided for coffee during the entirety of our stay.
The beds are what I would consider comfy and offer plenty of pillow choices. I slept great, while my husband complained he tossed and turned all night. I did have to turn the heat down to 64, even with a raging snowstorm outside, because it got stuffy quite quickly.
Now, the rest of the hotel's amenities, lessee. The pool. Great pool area, could use another changing room as we waited and waited for an entire family to finish showering and finally gave up and went to the nearby restrooms to change into our suits. The bromine, or whatever they use in the spa, bubbles to the point of foam. But, it wasn't overly strong smelling and didn't cause any eye irritation, still, my husband got a rash the next day. Could have been the temperature, it was pretty hot and the pool, in contrast, was too cold for me to enjoy. I also discovered what looked like cottonwood tufts, floating all over in the pool...ewwwwwwwww. After the spa, we did use the changing room to shower off and it is really great. Again, two of them would have been nice. The exercise area is cool, except, I wish they had a rowing machine.
The biggest pitfall, IMO, for this hotel is the layout of the lobby/entertainment areas. If you want to use the pool/spa or exercise area, you are essentially forced to walk from the elevators leading up to the rooms, all the way through the lobby/dining/bar area. (if there is another elevator available on the opposite side, we couldn't find it). Evenings at this hotel offer an open bar/dining option, so the entire area was filled w/ people when we went to the pool...something that many people may not be very comfortable with. It's why we chose to wait till we got to the pool area to change. Walking through an area full of people drinking in just a swimsuit and towel is not something I aspire to do. Perhaps the hotel should offer pool robes in each room or at the desk upon check-in to lessen the angst? We also didn't like the excessive noise in that area as we moved through on our way in and out. In the morning, going to the exercise area, you get the same feeling, wading through a sea of humanity, all trying to get to the free "continental breakfast". I think dining/drinking areas are better served behind partian walls or separate rooms. After all, this is a Marriot, one of the leading luxury names in the hotel industry. Guest comfort should always be a consideration, even in terms of personal privacy.
We had a late night, so we were up later than usual the next morning. Unfortunately, after working out, and getting showered, we also missed the breakfast, which is served from 7 am to10 am on the weekends. When we did pass the area, it was packed, as the hotel was quite full for the weekend. It looked like it would have sufficed, but I am unable to speak to the variety or quality of their food.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the quiet room we had. But because of the layout of the lobby area and the noise of the entertaiment area, as an older couple, it was not our cup of tea. That is why I only rated this 3 stars.

Room Tip: Anything away from the lobby, which gets very noisy from 5pm to 10pm due to their dining/drinking op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We appreciate the detailed recap of your time with us and thank you for all of the specific comments. We do understand the comments you shared regarding the layout of the lobby and can appreciate your concerns of having to traverse through the lobby to return to your room. Some guests opt to use the back stairwell to avoid the lobby but when our second phase opens (TownePlace Suites), guests will have additional options besides walking through the lobby. We are so glad to hear your time during the snow was pleasant and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have made many trips to Bellingham over the years for WWU activities, and decided to try a new hotel this time. It was a GREAT choice. Our room was clean, spacious, and well-appointed. Great breakfast, lovely lobby, gorgeous pool and workout facility. It was quiet, too! An additional outlet would have been nice in the bathroom, but I am being nit-picky. We will definitely be back :)

Room Tip: Our king suite gave us plenty of room to spread out. As always, I recommend an upper floor, to limit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, Allex. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

As the parent of a WWU student, I've stayed at every mid-priced hotel in Bellingham, and until now, hadn't found one that I looked forward to staying at again.

Finally, Springhill Suites came to Bellingham. The newer Springhill Suites design has lovely rooms with comfortable beds and a nice living/work area, and a great shower. The lobby is beautiful, and the pool and whirlpool are a decent size. Lots of parking. Good breakfast. I'll be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the SpringHill. We are so happy to be here as well and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham

Address: 4040 Northwest Avenue, Bellingham, WA 98226
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites by Marriott®, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed Internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free WiFi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.