We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what Bellingham needed, if a little off-centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Northwest Avenue, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Richmond, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just what Bellingham needed, if a little off-centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A terrific spot and being brand-new, it fills a huge void in Bellingham's hotel choices. High quality, new of course (as mentioned), full service and with amenities - it is almost a destination for this town all in itself. Marriott always does well with all of their levels of hotels and different names/styles.

Rooms are oversized, and nice that they have two separate, partial bathrooms: one with large shower (only; no tub folks) and main sink/vanity contained in one side, and the other section with a toilet and extra small sink. Large living room area, with glass enclosed desk & with full floor-to-ceiling frosted glass makes a nice natural & useable partition to the bedroom area. A small bar/countertop with bar fridge beneath is in a corner that provides added usefulness and useable space.

Large fitness room with all new equipment looks onto a large L-shaped pool across a glass enclosed hallway. The pool is typically outrageously shallow (between 3 - 5 or so ft in sections throughout), so fantastic for families with little kids but only just barely useable for brief laps or a proper swim if no one is around. But this is typical nowadays so not a surprise. Hot tub adjacent too.

Friendly staff run the huge lobby and overall area. Part of this is a breakfast nook in mornings beneath interesting B&W photos of the area, and the free/included breakfast is elaborate (some hot items like eggs & gruel, cheap self-making waffle station, along with other quick & easy continental items). Another corner makes for a bar set-up and kind-of bistro by evenings, which all looks gleaming & chrome & spotless (& stylish) being so brand-new - not a free manager's reception or anything but an actual working bar with food to order for cost. Still, this almost seemed like the place to be lately in Bellingham and appears to attract even the locals... though also great for Groups visiting the hotel.

The only thing unfortunate about this impressive new hotel is the location, though it's not all bad: people staying will almost always be driving, and America is a car-culture place! Lots of parking out front too. Though it is a bit odd - away from the centre of town, and close to popular Bellis Fair Mall, yet not quite walkably handy to it (about a mile away).

Interesting that a long-stay TownePlace Suites (also by Marriott) will be constructed right next door soon! In total, a big gain for Bellingham - a slightly undiscovered and charming large town in its own right.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and with a terrific layout - no poor choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
What a great review- Thank you Matthew. We may want to borrow some of your descriptions (haha). Your feedback is appreciated and I just wanted to add (to those guests who prefer a tub), our Queen (double-queen) suites do have tubs in them, whereas the king suites have the large glass-enclosed showers. Thank you again for your time to share your wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
8
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great hotel! Easy access, close to Bellis fair mall and the airport. Rooms are clean, new and modern.

Great lobby. Bartender was super friendly. Front desk was helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was late, which was a drag, considering we were leaving shortly after 6am for our flight and were only able to grab the items already out (which were stale croissants and yogurt and green bananas).

The room layout isn't for everyone - I am personally not a fan of the strange set-up of bathrooms being at the end of the beds with sliding doors. In this SS, the toilet is in a separate room. Great in some ways, but sometimes it's convenient to have them in the same room (LOL). Beds were comfy. Modern conveniences (like plugs beside the beds, lots of mirrors). There were connecting doors, which I found strange in a modern hotel. Outside doors have big gaps, so if the hotel were busier, I would expect the noise to travel.

Not sure if we had bad luck, or if there are thin wall issues, but we could hear a crying baby next door or upstairs. Something to be prepared for.

I would stay here again, being that I am a Marriott rewards elite member and the hotel is affordable and meets my needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am very happy to hear you had a great stay and found our bartenders and front desk staff helpful. Your feedback on room layout is also helpful - our goal with the split bathrooms is to allow rooms occupied by multiple guests the opportunity to all prepare at the same time without having to wait. We also have a large amount of families traveling during some seasons and to better accommodate them, we opted to incorporate connecting rooms. Again, I am delighted to hear you had a good stay overall. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott as a Rewards Member and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Best customer service -- very warm and friendly staff. Everything is very modern and new. Seriously, the best bed I have slept in - maybe ever. Felt like sleeping on a cloud. Loved the iPhone charger in the alarm clock beside the bed, the extra space and fridge/microwave as well as the free wifi that didn't even require some sort of sign in. The hot tub and 24-hour exercise room were both modern, & very clean.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I have to agree - these beds are truly heavenly! To be able to provide such a great experience AND a great night's sleep is our goal. thank you again and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night and was on the 4th floor (of 5). It was very quiet EXCEPT that I could here people above running back and forth (maybe kids?) so I would say that the sound insulation between floors may not be so great. However, everything else was nice: the room was beautifully decorated (although no tub, just a shower), the fitness centre was decent, the breakfast was also good. I would stay here again. It's nice to stay in a new hotel for once! The location is great too-right off the highway and right by Fred Meyer and Bellis Fair.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your visit to the SpringHill Suites and for taking time from your day to share your experience! Over the Holiday Breaks, we have had a large number of families staying with us, so I am sorry to hear you experienced some noise from above. We are always here anytime to address any concerns of this sort to ensure you have a very comfortable - and peaceful - stay! I also wanted to address your comment about the tub/shower. All of our King Suites have a shower, so often our guests will opt for a Double Queen Suite so they may be able to enjoy a tub in their room. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Thank you Marriott for opening a great hotel in Bellingham. This is an all new design for SpringHill Suites that has a restaurant and bar! The rooms are so nice and plenty of space. The digital thermostat keeps the room just right. The new room design is great for business travelers too.

It's great to finish a day with work, drive back to the hotel, have a freshly cooked meal and a drink. The staff is top notch too!

Hats off to the GM, you hired a great staff that is respectful, polite and very helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! Nothing makes this GM happier than to hear about such a wonderful experience. I am truly lucky to have the team I do here and I am nothing short of elated to hear we did our job for you! Thank you again and we sincerely hope to see you soon! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkolner
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've spent hundreds and hundreds (and hundreds more) nights at Marriott properties. I rarely post reviews. I'm a firm believer if you've been in one Courtyard, Fairfield Inn, Residence Inn, etc., you've been in them all.

And...

The same is true with SpringHill Suites. Yes, this one is shiny new. However to this weekly traveler, physically this hotel is identical to SpringHill Suites from Fairbanks to Florida.

But...

This one is has a major difference inside: It's at the customer service level.

I met Matthew and the others mentioned in previous reviews, and they are so unique in the hospitality industry they should be given awards and invited to teach courses.

But...

That would rob future guests of this great hotel from the unique experience of seeing them in action.

After they've made you feel like you're truly welcome, watch how they treat everyone else. It's pretty cool.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
What a delightful review! Thank you so much for the kind words and for taking the time to share your experience. From a guest who travels as extensively as you, this means a great deal. Thank you for the opportunity for me to share this with the entire team - it means a great deal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a brand new Springhill Suites with beautiful modern décor. We were there for 4 days on business, and the staff could not have been more helpful with everything: dining recommendations, directions, local spots, etc. Breakfast was delicious, and beautifully laid out. The location was excellent for our purpose, and just a short drive to quaint, scenic downtown Bellingham, or an exit away from lots of shopping and restaurants. Will definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSBhamAGM, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
This is a brand new Springhill Suites with beautiful modern décor. We were there for 4 days on business, and the staff could not have been more helpful with everything: dining recommendations, directions, local spots, etc. Breakfast was delicious, and beautifully laid out. The location was excellent for our purpose, and just a short drive to quaint, scenic downtown Bellingham, or an exit away from lots of shopping and restaurants. Will definitely return if in the area.

Dear Roxanne,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the NEW SpringHill Suites in Bellingham! We will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff and look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Bellingham!

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham

Address: 4040 Northwest Avenue, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites by Marriott®, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed Internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free WiFi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.