We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, healthy options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Cafe

Old Town Cafe
316 W Holly St, Bellingham, WA 98225-4314
360-671-4431
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #67 of 383 restaurants in Bellingham
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bellingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food, healthy options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lot's of healthy, organic options on this menu, and the food is reasonably priced. I had the jalapeno tuna melt, which was delicious, but the breakfast menu (served all day) has the most options. The waitress was prompt and friendly, but then disappeared for 45 minutes. I refilled our water glasses from the serving station, while my mom walked up the block to feed our meter. When our food finally came, our toasted sandwiches were cold. If it hadn't been for that, the food would have been great. We were there over the noon hour, but the restaurant didn't look that busy. I've given this a 4/5 because the food quality and price were great--it's really just the service that was bad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    19
    16
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“not fancy, just good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We took friends to breakfast here and were once again delighted at the service and quality of food. This place is not dressed up but does not disappoint. We ordered 4 different breakfast choices and everyone said they were very satisfied.

The service is great, with regular offers of coffee and water. The food came hot and tasty within 15 minutes of arriving at the restaurant.

The black beans on offer with one of the dishes were especially good and I will have then the next time Im in.

Located just off the downtown area the restaurant is convenient without battling for parking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, California
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hippies are alive and well, and eating at the Old Town Cafe. The food is excellent and reasonably priced, and the service is good. They even had a jazz duet (baritone sax, bass) on a Monday, at lunch no less, and the duet was very good. This place is a jewel.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice lunch, good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We made a stop in bellingham, from our journey back home to whistler. we had lunch at the old town cafe and ate the daily special.

The food was pretty good, a big portion and about 10$ per person. I think that's a very good price. The service was friendly, fast and attentively. The menu has a lot of different choices. You can eat breakfast, soups, wraps and daily specials.

I definitely would go again if I would live there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Bellingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is our family's favorite breakfast spot in Bellingham. A ton of vegetarian and vegan options for breakfast and lunch. The service is usually pretty good. Get there early on the weekends to avoid the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.