We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killer Food, Great Atmosphere, and full of laughs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Sisters

Pepper Sisters
1055 N State St, Bellingham, WA 98225-5011
360-671-3414
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 388 restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Southwestern
Restaurant details
Washington, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Killer Food, Great Atmosphere, and full of laughs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Visited this little dynamite place tonight! Killer food, many options, and decent serving sizes. Lots of fresh, healthful options. Must try the Homemade lemon/limeade they make... its delicious!!! Unique dishes, but sure to please anyone in your crowd! Great atmosphere, funky design but works for the festivities of the place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    33
    17
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait we had to get back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Having last visited here in November 2011, we were so glad to finally make it back. (We tried many times to eat here in the interim but they aren't open for lunch and are closed Mondays. It amazed me how often I am in Bellingham on a Monday.)

We had a great dinner on the back deck in the sunshine. The service was fast and very friendly. The place was almost full at about 7pm on a Tuesday night. We had a bowl of chips and very fresh chunky (but mild) salsa with a nice Bellingham IPA and glass of their house sangria. I had the famous Pinky Blue (organic blue corn tortillas layered with chicken, chipotle salsa, sour cream, cheese, grilled onions and olives. Yummy and huge. It came with brown rice and beans and a fresh crunchy salad/almost coleslaw with a slightly spicy buttermilk dressing. The Love of My Life had the special which was a chunky potato burrito under a spicy cream sauce that came with a jicama coleslaw and beans. I've never had jicama coleslaw before and it was very, very good. Their lovely "bits of heaven" sopaipillas with honey butter come just after the entree and again were the highlight of a delightful meal. Unfortunately we were again too full for dessert. Another reason to try to get back again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant southwestern choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I will make a trip to Bellingham when we want a little spicy hatch green chile southwestern experience. The locals keep this place hopping and folks like us will drive a half hour to get the real New Mexico dining options. Nothing fake about their menu or recipes. If you like hatch green or red chile, you will love Pepper Sisters. The help is very friendly. I love the pico de gallo they serve with chips.

If the weather is pleasant and wish to sit outside, request a table from the deck seating options in the back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Healthy Tex-Mex!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is in a great location, just off main downtown drag (walk-able if you already have a parking spot downtown) and with an outdoor dining patio featuring sunset bay views. Good sangria (I had the red); beer and wine only, so if you're hankering for a margarita, sorry--none here. If you are, however, looking for tasty, down-home, fresh & healthy Tex-Mex, you're in for a treat. Chips and salsa are free (instead of 3.50 per order) if you pay in cash, so consider hitting the cash machine in advance. Sopaipillas are excellent (fried bread with honey butter for dipping) as are red beans and slow-roasted pork dishes. The Del Fuego burrito is spicy but oh-so good. Friendly, laid back staff are quick to accommodate any requests. Also, as a plus, the outdoor patio has some great people watching of comings and goings in the alley below, as well as the benefit of live music from the venue next door that can be easily heard from outside. Indoor dining area very colorful and tastefully (warmly) decorated. Go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pepper Sisters has always offered a different take on Southwestern cuisine, and you can't fault their vision, ingredients, presentation and menu . . . but the food lacks "umami." I've never had a dish that made me think, "this is so good I'm gonna come back and get it again." For all the color and seemingly carefully selected ingredients the food just seems a little bland. Still, it's a good place for real food made for people who are looking for something different and healthful. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pepper Sisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Sisters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.