We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good..Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Padres Restaurant

Dos Padres Restaurant
1111 Harris Ave, Bellingham, WA 98225-7036
360-733-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Really Good..Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have learned to GO EARLY. Though they do take reservations, we went on a Friday night, which can be, well, "busy", if you go at a "fashionable" dinner hour. We went at 5 p.m. and had a wonderful time (again).

The food is prepared to order by somebody who knows what he/she is doing. It doesn't come quickly, but the full bar and chips/salsa and appetizer menu will keep you from getting bored. Actually, we chose an item that we were told would take sometime to prepare...and it was worth the wait.

We live in Portland, OR, but come, regularly, to Bellingham. We PREFER to eat at Dos Padres when we're in town, usually with friends. The food isn't "hot" (too bad, in my opinion!) but can be made spicier upon request (still not hot enough for me...only complaint!). Overall quality is very good, service is excellent, and, well, we'll attend again next time in Bellingham.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    7
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Bc
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An old-time favourite in Fairhaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I hadn't been to Dos Padres in years, so it was fun to visit again. The service and food were both excellent and not just traditional Mexican food. I would have enjoyed a few margaritas but was driving so had to take a pass this time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This family-owned Mexican restaurant has been open for over 40 years, and we're not surprised. The decor is traditional and comforting, the menu extensive, the sauces and dishes like chiles rellenos made fresh in the kitchen (killer salsa!), and the waitstaff friendly and accommodating. I had the rellenos, which had the fluffiest batter I have ever experienced, and my family had burritos. They were all great. We will go back for lunch when we're back in Bellingham again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Meal-Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stopped on our way to Vancouver. The service was fast and very friendly. The server was fabulous and spent time chatting and telling us about the place.

The food was great and we enjoyed it immensely. Will return anytime we are driving by.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“40 Years of Experience in Fairhaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

When we had to choose between the "new" Mexican Restaurant in town or "Dos Padres" we went for the experience. Very traditional decor and delicious food. My husband loves Chile Rellenos that are fluffy and light. My favorite is the Cheese and Onion Enchilada with traditional red sauce and lots of cheese. I ordered a combination plate that included a Tostada and my meal was fresh, hot, and delicious. I tasted a hint of cinnamon in the shredded beef. Our friends ordered Margaritas with dinner and my husband ordered Scotch Ale from the local brewer. Our server was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed the local view from our window table. With many restaurants to choose from we were very satisfied with our choice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Padres Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dos Padres Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Padres Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.