We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Perfect views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff House

Cliff House
331 N State St, Bellingham, WA 98225-5325
360-734-8660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 388 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food. Perfect views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is my favorite place to take out-of-town visitors. But I also enjoy going there. The menu has a good variety - from steaks to seafood. And their whiskey crab soup is superb!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    13
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had reservations,were seated and left without acknowledgement for twenty minutes before we gave up and left. The blond waitress in the bar walked by us five times and never acknowledged us. The restaurant was dead for a Friday night so there was no excuse for the way staff behaved. The place smelled old and the menu was small. We will not be returning. We told the hostess why we were leaving before we left and she didn't seem to care.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service, overpriced food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I made a reservation to have dinner here on Friday night and everything was fine at first. We were seated and brought water by the hostess. Then we waited and waited and after twenty minutes of not being acknowledged by anyone we got up and left. There was a blond waitress working in the bar who walked passed us no less than five times and didn't acknowledge us until we got up to leave. It was very annoying especially since there were only three occidental tables in the restaurant. We will not be returning ever. There are many better fine dinning restaurants in Bellingham. The place smelled old and was not as nice as I remember it being in the past.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oh the whiskey crab soup!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a good place to celebrate an event or just have dinner out. It is hard to find in a residential neighborhood, but worth it. Reservations are recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but usually pretty good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Be sure to make reservations. A very expensive restaurant (a bowl of whiskey crab soup is $9.00). Salads are great. Only give you one basket of bread, which is not heated. My steak was great when warm, but dried out quickly. Steaks were overcooked. Husband, a real seafood lover, hated his seafood dinner here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House also viewed

 

Been to Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.