We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Pizza in Bellingham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LA Fiamma Wood Fire Pizza

LA Fiamma Wood Fire Pizza
200 E Chestnut St, Bellingham, WA 98225-5003
+1 360-647-0060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 332 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In 1998, a great location and the desire to produce superb pizza led Dan and Ken Bothman to create La Fiamma Wood Fire Pizza. An immediate sensation, Dan and Ken's restaurant was showered with acclaim, winning the Best New Business and Bellingham's Best Pizza awards, as well as garnering two Best Recipe awards in the National Association of Pizza Operators (NAPO) International Recipe Contest. But stellar pizza isn't the only reason to visit La Fiamma. The stylish decor and vibrant atmosphere delight and entice both young and old and everyone in between. You can witness the display of a pizza's progression through the kitchen (kids love it), or you can relax in our heated outdoor dining area, and catch an amazing sunset over the San Juan Islands. The La Fiamma experience is always a fusion of personality, ambience, and incredible food.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best Pizza in Bellingham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I have had many dinners at La Fiamma and were not disappointed in any of them.
Good fresh food served by a friendly and attentive staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    61
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific NW
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“But they have the best pizza and salads in BHam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

They have the best pizza and salads in Bellingham. The service is good and cheerful. The food is usually very good. The weekends can get busy, especially with large groups, so go early. It does get noisy, as the chairs are metal it is an older building. But the location is good in downtown Bellingham. The staff are cheerful and eager to get you what you need. The pizza is the best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham,Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

If I had to pick just one restaurant in Bellingham to eat in for the rest of my life, it would be La Fiamma. I love the wide range of pizzas available there, particularly the always-imaginative specials, such as the latest one I enjoyed, which included sautéed apples and pears, Gorgonzola and mozzarella cheese, caramelized onions, almonds, and bacon, topped with fresh watercress and a blackberry ginger syrup. It was beautiful and delicious!

For those who prefer more traditional pizzas, you'd probably prefer my husband's choice that day -- the Meat Lover's pizza, loaded with prosciutto, pepperoni, salami, and their housemade Italian sausage.

There are so many choices -- including vegetarian options -- that nearly everyone would be happy here. Try something new to you, like pizza topped with pulled pork!

The Lunch Special, available until 4 p.m. daily, is a great bargain -- a personal-size pizza (about 8" or so) of your choice, and what the menu calls a "small green salad" but I call at least a medium sized one, piled high with mixed greens, shredded carrots, grated cheese, and pumpkin seeds. Their salad dressings are made there and are yummy!

Little kids get a piece of pizza dough to play with while waiting for their food, and our grandkids loved that! There are several menu choices for children (10 and under), including noodles and butter for those going through a "I don't like anything!" phase.

If pizza isn't your favorite, how about the spicy Penne alla Puttanesca, or the lush Smoked Salmon Orecchiette in a red pepper and pesto cream sauce, or Linguini Alfredo, or Spaghetti & Meatballs -- homemade meatballs!

La Fiamma offers a fine range of regional microbrews, wine, cocktails, and soft drinks, including a fabulous rosemary lemonade and a house-made ginger beer (non-alcoholic), as well as coffee, espresso, and tea. If you still have room for dessert, there are five wonderful choices -- definitely big enough to share!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect way to end a vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had one night left in Washington after spending a week in Seattle and a week in British Columbia Canada. Our flight left early from Bellingham so we decided to drive around.

We discovered quickly that Bellingham has much to offer and our next trip to Washington we plan on spending a few nights there to see what we missed.

La Fiamma is definitely on our return list for dinner excellent pizza; and if you can't decide on one they have no problem doing half and half. A large is a good size portion for two. The wait staff was awesome! We asked for a table for two and there was a half hour wait, weasked for a reservation but they do not do reservations, so then we asked what the chances of us getting a seat if we left had a beer and came back, the gal said no problem. Sure enough we walked in 30 minutes later and they sat us down.

Wonderful food and a cool town in the north west. A must if your up that way, thanks for the great meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
167 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Probably a 4+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We've eaten here about five times and it's always been good. They've got the old tried and true pizzas and some very creative ones too. The crust is excellent. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Fiamma Wood Fire Pizza also viewed

 

Been to LA Fiamma Wood Fire Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA Fiamma Wood Fire Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.