We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Gitano

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Gitano
1125 E Sunset Dr, Bellingham, WA 98226
(360) 714-1065
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 384 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good mexican food. I usually get the Birria. They also have Karoke 1 or 2 nights a week and that is usually pretty fun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food... and that's not just the margaritas talking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Like many other reviewers on here we make this a stop when we are in the States from Canada. We have many wonderful places at home but I don't know of any local Mexican restaurants in the Lower Mainland so El Gitano is a special treat whenever we are in the area.
The decor is what you would expect for a cantina style place, brightly colored tiles and banners. Many tables and booths to choose from.
The service starts with the obligatory salsa and tortilla chips on the table but the chips are warm from the oven. It is hard to hold back to save room for the large portioned meal ahead.
I always start with a Patron margarita over ice. They serve a very generous sized drink and they give you what you are paying for. Delicious.
The menu is large and has a great variety of beef, chicken and shrimp dishes. I was torn between the Chicken Mole and the Spicy Steak Picante. I went with the Spicy Steak and was not disappointed. Lots of jalepeno slices in the red picante sauce. Sour cream, guacamole, beans and rice as is standard on most Mexican food plates. Great flavor and the spiciness was just right. The food is not greasy at all which can be quite a turn off.
I suggest you take your time and really look over the menu because I missed seeing a couple things until after I had ordered. I guess we will just have to come back down for more great Mexican food. Never any room for dessert.
Our server was friendly and fun and all the staff are very attentive. Having been here several times this has always been our experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quality Food and Service - Muy Bueno!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A casual atmosphere, and although it was busy we got a table right away. The server was very attentive, and the staff made an effort to make sure we were satisfied with everything. It was hard not to be with food this good! I had the Chicken mole. The sauce had a good balance of heat and spice to sweet and rich. It came with a generous sides of beans, rice, tomato and greens. Everything tasted fresh and made from scratch, even the salsa for the tortilla chips, and the ingredients in the margaritas. Definitely a step above the typical neighbourhood Mexican place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food Anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This reataruant in Bellingham WA. is probably thee best Mexican Restaurant I have dined at anywhere. Food is delicious, service is great and the prices extremely reasonable.

We have dined here many times during a shopping trips to the USA and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stopped here for dinner on our way home to Canada - and we were not dissapointed!
The selection of mexican restaurants south of the Canadian border is astounding! So it was just a fluke that we stopped here.... and we are glad we did! We have been here a few times, and have never come away dissapointed (unlike some other mexican restaurants around seattle... and of course ALL the mexican restaurants in Vancouver).
The helpings are huge, the food is good, the atmosphere is good, and the service is quick. I wish we had some restaurants like this in Vancouver, BC :-(

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gitano also viewed

 
Bellingham, WA
Bellingham, WA
 

Been to El Gitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gitano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.