We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Food and Service - Muy Bueno!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Gitano

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Gitano
1125 E Sunset Dr, Bellingham, WA 98226
(360) 714-1065
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quality Food and Service - Muy Bueno!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A casual atmosphere, and although it was busy we got a table right away. The server was very attentive, and the staff made an effort to make sure we were satisfied with everything. It was hard not to be with food this good! I had the Chicken mole. The sauce had a good balance of heat and spice to sweet and rich. It came with a generous sides of beans, rice, tomato and greens. Everything tasted fresh and made from scratch, even the salsa for the tortilla chips, and the ingredients in the margaritas. Definitely a step above the typical neighbourhood Mexican place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food Anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This reataruant in Bellingham WA. is probably thee best Mexican Restaurant I have dined at anywhere. Food is delicious, service is great and the prices extremely reasonable.

We have dined here many times during a shopping trips to the USA and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stopped here for dinner on our way home to Canada - and we were not dissapointed!
The selection of mexican restaurants south of the Canadian border is astounding! So it was just a fluke that we stopped here.... and we are glad we did! We have been here a few times, and have never come away dissapointed (unlike some other mexican restaurants around seattle... and of course ALL the mexican restaurants in Vancouver).
The helpings are huge, the food is good, the atmosphere is good, and the service is quick. I wish we had some restaurants like this in Vancouver, BC :-(

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Best Burrito”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I visit "El Git" as we call it, about once a month to savor one of their "el Gitano Special Burritos" which is essentially a super pork burrito with all the trimmings. We love it. It is actually enough to share but usually we both order one and split it in half and take the remainder home for lunch the next day. Even better!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food is average Mexican fare. The bar tenders have always been very accommodating and the karaoke crowd is pretty fun. One waitress with a terrible terrible attitude but the rest of the staff have always been reliably good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gitano also viewed

 

Been to El Gitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gitano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.