We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to take a walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Historic District

Fairhaven Historic District
1100 Harris Avenue, Bellingham, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Attractions in Bellingham
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Attraction details
Albuquerque, Nm
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to take a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I was driving from north of Vancouver, BC, to Seatac and after sitting at the border crossing for a while, I just wanted to get out of the car and stretch my legs a bit. I saw the sign for the Fairhaven Historic District and took the exit. I will admit that other than getting some gelato, I did not stop in any of the shops or restaurants, but it was a lovely place to walk. The homes there are beautiful, most are Victorian style, and some have breathtaking yards with gorgeous flowers. I also walked down to the Fairhaven Cruise Terminal for beautiful views of the water and the ship heading to Alaska. There appeared to be a wide variety of restaurants in the area, something to satisfy everyone. As for me, I was content with my walk that was longer than I had planned--6 miles! I was very much enjoying looking at the beautiful homes.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    56
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Walk back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

we thoroughly enjoyed the antique shops and reminisced about the olden times. The art work through out the district was enjoyable and the "feel" of being in an old fashioned town made for a great afternoon

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I live about 5 miles away from Fairhaven so i go there a lot. It is a great place to shop, eat or dine. Almost all of the buildings are the original 1860-1910 architecture and are very beautiful. Fairhaven is a great little place to find so many wonders!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Bc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't know much about history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

But you do learn about the area's past through the signs and buildings, local lore on gold rush and pioneering days. Set near the water, it is a charming spot for boutique shopping as well as finding sports equipment for running, biking, skiing, boarding, etc. Great place for lunch! There are several cafes with lots of creative flare in soups, salads, and sandwiches. Veggie lovers would swoon!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely restaurant and shopping district.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you're staying at the Chrysalis Inn & Spa, Fairhaven is a short stroll and worth the calories! The streets are lined with friendly people and offer several dining and bar options.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairhaven Historic District also viewed

 

Been to Fairhaven Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.