We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Historic District

Fairhaven Historic District
1100 Harris Avenue, Bellingham, WA 98225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 61 things to do in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Historic Fairhaven District is a quaint, charming community full of boutiques, shops, spas and restaurants. It's located in Bellingham, WA on the south side of town, north of Seattle and south of Vancouver, BC. It's surrounded by miles of hiking and biking trails with beautiful views of the bay. It has a little of everything for the entire family. It's great for a day trip or a long relaxing weekend!
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charmed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stopped in Fairhaven on a beautiful fall day. Close to the water and beautiful Boulevard Park, I felt like I was stepping back in time. The area makes me think of a New England village especially during the fall. We liked Village Books; there was an adjoining gift shop that had really unique items! There is a Humane Society gift shop nearby that was really nice too. Plus, you can feel good about buying there since all the money goes to a good cause. The Fairhaven Pharmacy was a lot of fun. Very old building but interesting items and atmosphere. I wish I could've spent more time there. I know we'll be back and would highly recommend visiting the area!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    80
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fairhaven offers a wonderful selection of small business stores. The greatest bookstore, selling new and used books, "Village Books" is located here. There is a choice of tasty, not fancy, restaurants all within walking distance of the main intersection. Parking is free. Acme recently opened an ice cream shop and will soon open "Fat Pie" pizza. One can taste a wide selection of Olive oils and vinegars, and find a good selection of kitchenware in shops next to Village Books. Artisan shops and galleries are also in the offering with a few clothing stores and a very interesting shoe store, "12th Street Shoes." We always bring visitors there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we decided to live here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Beautiful town right on the bay. Loved the area so much that we decided to rent in the area for our first year in town. Lovely shops, coffee housese and restaurants with quick access parks, bike trails and even the train station.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 attraction reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Little Shopping Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Really nice part of Bellingham to shop. Lots of fun stores! Lots of variety from plants and flowers to books and gifts. I wish I had more time to spend here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Old Fairhaven has buildings dating back to the beginning of the twentieth century. Good restaurants and shops. Be sure to stop a Village Books, one of the best independent bookstore in the west.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairhaven Historic District also viewed

 

Been to Fairhaven Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.