We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend a day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Historic District

Fairhaven Historic District
1100 Harris Avenue, Bellingham, WA
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 31 attractions in Bellingham
Type: Neighborhoods
Attraction Details
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fairhaven offers a wonderful selection of small business stores. The greatest bookstore, selling new and used books, "Village Books" is located here. There is a choice of tasty, not fancy, restaurants all within walking distance of the main intersection. Parking is free. Acme recently opened an ice cream shop and will soon open "Fat Pie" pizza. One can taste a wide selection of Olive oils and vinegars, and find a good selection of kitchenware in shops next to Village Books. Artisan shops and galleries are also in the offering with a few clothing stores and a very interesting shoe store, "12th Street Shoes." We always bring visitors there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    30
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we decided to live here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Beautiful town right on the bay. Loved the area so much that we decided to rent in the area for our first year in town. Lovely shops, coffee housese and restaurants with quick access parks, bike trails and even the train station.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Little Shopping Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Really nice part of Bellingham to shop. Lots of fun stores! Lots of variety from plants and flowers to books and gifts. I wish I had more time to spend here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Old Fairhaven has buildings dating back to the beginning of the twentieth century. Good restaurants and shops. Be sure to stop a Village Books, one of the best independent bookstore in the west.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good trails, connected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Near some really good jogging and biking trails and I like how small it is really good for walking around and near a really good beach. Overall, I like this place a lot.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairhaven Historic District also viewed

 

Been to Fairhaven Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.