We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Historic District

Fairhaven Historic District
1100 Harris Avenue, Bellingham, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Attractions in Bellingham
Type: Neighborhoods, Other
Attraction details
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Bellingham a few times but this was my first time visiting Fairhaven. I loved it there! It's a charming little historic village with old buildings and shops. A nice place to go for a walk on a sunny day. There are also no parking meters (at least near Village Books) which is a nice change! There's an outdoor cinema outside the bookstore/cafe but they didn't show any movies anymore when we came 'cause it was late in the summer. I'd visit there again sometime.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    66
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fairhaven - very nice place to shop and dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I liked how quaint the town was. Lots of shops and restaurants. Very vibrant area. Traffic a little heavy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Utterly charming ... geared to the tourist.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fairhaven is the perfect spot for weekenders or tourists looking for a nice stopover for the afternoon. Restaurants, shops and recreation prevail in this 3-4 city block area. Prices are a bit inflated, the food is average to good (had a great breakfast at Harris Avenue Cafe). Vendors and locals are friendly and accommodating.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, OR
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Charming area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We walked through a park with a labyrinth, through the woods, past salmon ladders, and came out at the most charming historic district with great restaurants, bars, and cafes. A walking tour, we discovered "the green" surrounded by an area where they have farmer's markets and a big screen on the wall where they show outdoor movies. We only saw it in the evening in the dark, but were enchanted and would love to return to Bellingham's Historic District and so glad our friends moved in walking distance of it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, US
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Picturesque area of Bellingham with lots of shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We enjoyed walking the streets of this area with its many boutiques and specialty shops and lots of restaurants and coffee shops. The boardwalk along Bellingham Bay is a great spot to walk in the evening (with lots of benches to sit and enjoy the view of the boats and animals, in addition to the people).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairhaven Historic District also viewed

 

Been to Fairhaven Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.