We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Slow Kitchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keenan's at the Pier

Keenan's at the Pier
804 10th Street, The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, Bellingham, WA
360.392.5510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 392 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food - Slow Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a fine meal here, overlooking Bellingham Bay and the walking pier. Delicious braised Chilean Sea Bass was the special and yummy lamb chops from the main menu. Good happy hour menu too.
Although the servers were readily available, the kitchen was incredibly slow - even at breakfast with a near empty restaurant. A good option in Bellingham if you have lots of time!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We chose this restaurant "ad lib", so to speak, on a shopping trip to Bellingham. The service was great, friendly, knowledgeable, and ready to go the extra mile. Food was superb, you have to try the bread pudding, wow! It's served with 3 different sauces to dip into! There was a slight hiccup in the kitchen with our entree (no idea what) so we had to wait a little bit, but the manager was most apologetic and insisted we had desert to compensate. To be honest, we never noticed as we had enjoyed a great appetizer and were quite happy to have a break. I always say if you have to wait for food in a restaurant you know they're cooking it fresh for you, if it comes too quick it was probably cooked earlier and reheated. And, if you're in a rush you don't eat in this type of restaurant you go fast food! We will definitely go again, next time in daylight as we're told the view is amazing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great happy hour, but…..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Terrific view, and the best happy hour food in Bellingham. Too bad cocktails are not included for happy hour pricing. We love coming here, alas, the bar area is just too small. On a visit the other night, we saw at least a dozen people turned away in less than one hour. The lounge area on the other side of the bar area is a waste of space, not at all conducive for a drink and appetizer. We hope the owners of the Chrysalis will consider capitalizing on the great food and atmosphere at Kennan's, by expanding the bar and restaurant area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
“Great view and best waitress ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had dinner at the resturant on Oct 15th. Great service from our very friendly waitress. The food was very good, although my soup was a bit salty. I just mentioned that fact and there was no charge on the bill for the soup. Of course I did finish the whole bowl, so that was a very gracious gesture on their part. My husband had the very exciting pork chop, which he said was great.
I had the Thai stew, and that was really yummy. They, do a wonderful job of going out of their way to provide excellent service. I went back the next day to seek some lost glasses, and they looked everywhere for them. Someone has set pretty high standards for this venue.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting and tasty, but pricy and slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The menu was interesting and the food tasted great, but we arrived after 1:30 for a late lunch and the food service was very...very slow. We were greeted fairly promptly and our order was taken, but after a considerable wait I was surprised that our main course was served and our appetizer had been forgotten about. Not sure whether the kitchen or the waitress was responsible. She was friendly and they did deduct some off the bill for the forgotten appetizer. We may try it again some time, but the experience was not particularly great for an "upscale priced" restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keenan's at the Pier also viewed

 

Been to Keenan's at the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keenan's at the Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.