We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive Happy Hour with Tasty Food and Excellent Drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keenan's at the Pier

Keenan's at the Pier
804 10th Street, The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, Bellingham, WA
360.392.5510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 335 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Happy Hour with Tasty Food and Excellent Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant has been transformed from a stodgy affair to a very fun place.

The views are spectacular, excellent service, delectable food.

The lamb sliders are fabulous as are the truffle french fries. Other wonderful pupus
include the BBQ pork carnitas and the hummus.

Kammie the bartender makes Happy Hour at Keenan's the best in Bellingham.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    31
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really improved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

About a year ago now they redid the decor and menu and brought in new staff. It's transformed this place from average to excellent, and really it's now one of the best places to eat in Bellingham.

So many restuarants have a great view and very average food. The view is fantastic, and for once the food quality actually matches the natural beauty of Bellingham Bay and the San Juan islands. And they have several nice touches like loaner sunglasses for a sunny day and shawls to put over your shoulders once the sun goes down (this is Bellingham, after all, so the temperature drops 10-15 degrees as soon as the sun sets).

My wife and I went here for a 'date night', and really enjoyed ourselves. Appetizers and dinner were great. Things dropped off a little with desert: slow in coming and not spectacular. But we still came away very happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
363 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and great views from outside patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We started with the artisan bread basket which came with delicious breads and three delicious butters (my favorite was the sun-dried tomato). I had the fresh-caught blackened Lummi salmon which was absolutely delicious. The honey barbecue chicken takes a little extra time to prepare but my son judged it to be more than worth the wait. We shared a trio of delicious desserts and had cappuccinos, providing a perfect finish as the sun set over Bellingham Bay. Our server was fairly new but was learning quickly and was very polite and helpful. I highly recommend dinner at Keenan's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
“Good food sloppy service and nasty outside”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I were there last week. We had lunch outside, very confusing what we can and can not have. The floor was full of debris and the tables unclean.. Service was sloppy with different staff members delivering our food. The whole restaurant looked sloppy. I expected more form the reviews I have read about the Chrysalis

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food that matches the view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had dinner with friends here on a perfect August sunset evening. The staff snuck us in quickly on the deck because we had a teenager with us and we couldn't be seated in the bar area. I had the rocket and strawberry salad and the pasta primavera. The food was superb. We all split a beignet dessert with delicious dipping sauces -- fabulous. The chef made his rounds and really talked with us rather than a simple hello.. Start to finish it was a class act. Breakfast the next day (we were staying at the Chrysalis) was also quite wonderful, and again the service was exceptional. Can't wait to return on our next visit to Bellingham.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keenan's at the Pier also viewed

 

Been to Keenan's at the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keenan's at the Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.